Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Delicious! My husband loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Except for Rosettes (a Swedish cookie), I don't think I've ever fried a dish! But I did this one. I used a Costco packet of two boneless skinless chicken breasts and so halved the rest of the ingredients. I brined the chicken for about five hours, using only half the (kosher) salt. For the flour mixture I used only 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne (could have used more). This was totally delicious! The next time I make this, I'll try brining and lightly frying the chicken without the flour in a mixture of olive oil and butter and see how that works. Frying doesn't work for all people! I suspect that the secret to this recipe is the brine after all. Thanks once again, Chef John. I'm a loyal fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I am going to have to try this again. I used chicken quarters instead of breasts, and left the skin on. The skin started to burn so I had to bake it to finish cooking. Next time I will see if the skinless bonelss chicken cooks like it should. And I will brine the chicken over night. Otherwise... EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
DEFINATELY 5/5. This was my very first attempt at fried chicken, and it was phenomenal! Everyone (boyfriend/fiance, parents, and little sister) polished it off before anyone had time to get seconds. The only thing I will criticize is that it was indeed a little salty, but I used onion powder instead of onion salt. Regardless, this was VERY good and went well with the carrots and dinner rolls we had with it. I will most definately make this again. >:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystiecub

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
What a surprisingly tasty way to prepare the ever tasteless,dry boneless skinless chicken breast!! I found it to be easy as well!! I will use this recipe over and over and even play with variations since im sure there are plenty of ways to do so! Thank you for making me a star in my home tonite! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piper_says
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wow! This recipe is fabulous! It didn't turn out the way I was expecting. I thought it would end up a little sweet, like my favorite Tyson honey-battered chicken strips... not so much. It was still delicious, though! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't dry the chicken after I dredged it. Also, I used scallopines from Sprout's, so it cooked really quickly and didn't get overdone on the outside or dry out. Also, I used fat free regular milk instead of the buttermilk. Really a wonderful recipe for fried chicken that is easy and doesn't take too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piper_says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe. Moist and flavorful. Was a bit skidish about the salt so cut the brine soak time to 45 mins and sub'd garlic & onion powder for garlic & onion salt. Only other comment is recipe says "Ready In: 25 Min" Well... an hour to soak in the brine, 15 mins to soak in the milk, 15 mins to "dry", 30 - 40 mins in the pan... This is a couple of hours project... Oh well - Worth the effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This chicken was awesome. I followed the recipes with one minor change, I only used 1/8 c kosher salt. Turned out perfect, moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
It's sometimes risky trusting internet recipes, but this is a definite winner. I subbed breast tenders for breasts, 2% for buttermilk, and garlic and onion powders for garlic and onion salts. Because I used tenders, I cut the brine ingredients in half and soaked the chicken for 30 min instead of 1 hr. I would suggest that you stay very conscious of the brine. Even though I cut my soaking time in half, my chicken ended up just a tad salty. Granted, I subbed the buttermilk and I didn't dry my chicken COMPLETELY post-brine. I'd say it's definitely safer to sub garlic and onion POWDERS for salts, and just keep salt at the table. At any rate this is a fantastic recipe on its own (and I imagine it makes a great template as well). Thanks, Chef John! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States