Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Chef John (note the chef title) is able to fry a large chicken breast without it turning black. I, however, know my limitations. I decided to cut the breast into medallions to enhance my chances of having a dish that was edible. Other than that slight change, I made the recipe exactly as instructed. This is a great recipe. The chicken had wonderful flavor was very moist and absolutely perfect served on greens. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
It's sometimes risky trusting internet recipes, but this is a definite winner. I subbed breast tenders for breasts, 2% for buttermilk, and garlic and onion powders for garlic and onion salts. Because I used tenders, I cut the brine ingredients in half and soaked the chicken for 30 min instead of 1 hr. I would suggest that you stay very conscious of the brine. Even though I cut my soaking time in half, my chicken ended up just a tad salty. Granted, I subbed the buttermilk and I didn't dry my chicken COMPLETELY post-brine. I'd say it's definitely safer to sub garlic and onion POWDERS for salts, and just keep salt at the table. At any rate this is a fantastic recipe on its own (and I imagine it makes a great template as well). Thanks, Chef John! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This chicken was awesome. I followed the recipes with one minor change, I only used 1/8 c kosher salt. Turned out perfect, moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe. Moist and flavorful. Was a bit skidish about the salt so cut the brine soak time to 45 mins and sub'd garlic & onion powder for garlic & onion salt. Only other comment is recipe says "Ready In: 25 Min" Well... an hour to soak in the brine, 15 mins to soak in the milk, 15 mins to "dry", 30 - 40 mins in the pan... This is a couple of hours project... Oh well - Worth the effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious! 5 stars! I made minor adjustments based on reading all the reviews. Because there was a consistent theme of "too salty", I reduced the kosher salt to somewhere between 1/4 c and 1/8 c. and used garlic and onion powders instead of salts. This worked perfectly. **Keep in mind the recipe calls for kosher salt, so if you use table salt (Morton's, etc), it will yield a saltier meal than if you use kosher salt so you might back-off a bit more** So the breasts would cook thouroughly before burning the crust, I pounded the chicken to around 1" thickness. I will make them thinner next time as the crust was pretty dark by the time the internal temp raised to 155F. (watched Chef John's video and he recommends this temp as the internal temp will continue to rise to around 165F after being removed from the oil - which it did). The taste was superb! Very flavorful and moist. I will definitely make these again. Served with Cowboy potatoes from this site and a Kale Salad. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Amazing recipe! Followed it exactly.. Except added extra seasoning to the flour mixture. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mreece2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
DEFINATELY 5/5. This was my very first attempt at fried chicken, and it was phenomenal! Everyone (boyfriend/fiance, parents, and little sister) polished it off before anyone had time to get seconds. The only thing I will criticize is that it was indeed a little salty, but I used onion powder instead of onion salt. Regardless, this was VERY good and went well with the carrots and dinner rolls we had with it. I will most definately make this again. >:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Wow! This was wonderful. I followed exactly with the exception of substituting half-and-half for the buttermilk (I had some I wanted to use up). I was a little afraid I would burn them to a crisp, as my chicken breasts were pretty big, but I just turned them a couple of times and they turned out well. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The whole purpose of brining is to help the white meat be more tender and flavorful. Keep in mind that you discard the brine after the meat has marinated in it for an hour. Only a tiny bit is absorbed into the meat. The salt is what helps the meat hold it's moisture. If you marinate it more than an hour it will probably be saltier. IF you cut back on the salt there is no real need to brine it so don't bother. I made this exactly like the recipe called for and it was not salty at all. It was delicious and moist. I usually cut my chicken breast in half horizontally instead of pounding them. Each breast is like less than an inch thick. It makes cooking them easier and it helps cut the portion size down. Letting it sit for 5 minutes after cooking also helps the meat hold it's moisture. This is an awesome recipe, however the ready in 25 min is misleading. It's more like 2 hours. My family loved it, it was moist and very tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My family and I really liked this recipe. I did make alterations-added corn muffin mix and instant potato flakes to the flour, and tripled pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder (not onion salt or garlic salt). Also added season salt and paprika to flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States