Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
OMG! This was AMAZING! I didn't have Kosher salt but used 1/8 of table salt in the brine as suggested by another reviewer. I also used garlic powder & onion powder in the flour mixture. (We are watching our salt intake). I used 1 teaspoon of cayenne and it gave it the right amount of pop. After frying, I placed the chicken on a cooling rack. I will have Kosher salt on hand from now on as I see a lot of recipes that call for it. I love this recipe! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very moist, but not much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this tonight and it was delish! I followed the recipe exacly as presented. The only thing I did different was leaving the chicken in the brine for a couple of hours instead of just one. I was trying to kill time and I doubt if that made any difference. The chicken was very MOIST and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Gribbons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Followed recipe exactly with the exception of seasoning....1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp garlic, 1 tsp cayenne & 1 tsp chipotle spice. My husband LOVED it & so did I! There would probably be 1 change I would make the next time and that would be to half the chicken breast so that my coating doesn't burn before my chicken is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I loved the fried chicken with no skin and boneless. I always use that type of chicken and this was the very best way to fry it. Thanks for the recipe. It wasnt too hard to prepare either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This chicken is delicious! Next time, though, I will cut back on the salt in the brine by half. Also, the prep time that Chef John notes does not account for all of the resting time, which is about 1.5 hours including brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Wondering if you can put this in the oven? time and temp? anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
My family and I loved this Chicken! I read some of the reviews before I started and listened. I did use 1/4 cup Kosher salt and know that useing table salt in a brine can make a huge difference in flavor. So I did brine for a hour, but still did not use salt in the flour. Mainly because I don't have "salted" garlic and onion powder and added paprika also. I did pound out the chicken breast (they were really thick) to about 1&1/2" for a more even cook time. As far as the sticking goes, I started with a professional pan that can be put in the oven and the chix stuck. So I switched to a non-stick pan, no sticking! The dish turned out PERFECT. I severed it with roasted russet and sweet potatoes, baked beans and grilled corn. A+ Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
"The nutrition data for this recipe includes the full amount of the brine ingredients. The actual amount of the brine consumed will vary." Apparently the reviewers citing the sodium content don't know how to read. Most brining doesn't consume much of the brine - similar to marinating. Marinade content would be appalling if completely consumed as well much of the time - but most of it ends up thrown away, as the meat absorbs only a little. Didn't have buttermilk, so used 2% milk, it still came out just fine. I also pounded the breasts to an even thickness to avoid my usual issue of the thin part overcooking while the thick part is still pink. Works well for b/s pork chops as well- had a loin I couldn't think of anything special for, cut it into 1/2 inch thickness, and followed the rest. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Excellent! I didn't measure but used my eye, however, it turned out great and the whole family was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States