Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
For all of the prep time and messing with frying, the result was moist chicken with a bland coating. Not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
My husband says this is the best! followed recipe to the letter, and worked out just great. However, even though I first folllowed recipe exactly it seemsed too salty. I've made it twice since using less salt each time and still.....But very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Holy moly -- this was a little bit of work but worth every minute! This chicken was truly to die for. The recipe says it's ready in 25 minutes - NOT. First, you have to let it marinade at least an hour in the fridge, then it has to sit out for 15 minutes in the buttermilk, and then another 15 minutes in the flour mixture. If I had waited that long for the 15 minutes parts, this might have been even better but as it was I gave about 10 in the buttermilk and 5 on the rack with flour and then cooked it up. WOW. I just can't say enough about how juicy and delicious this was. The only thing I think I did wrong was setting it on paper towels when I took it out of the oil --- immediately out it was succulent (hard to stop eating it as I was plating!) but with dinner it was a bit drier. Next time I won't let it blot. So darn good I'm already putting it on the list to make for both sets of parents when they visit this holiday. Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyKidzMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Great, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I followed the directions, but the coating end up sticking to the pan. The chicken was juicy and tender though. Maybe I need to try this in a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very good and delicious. Didn't have buttermilk on hand so I used soured milk. 1/2C milk (i had 1%) add 1T vinegar and let it sit 5 min. I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
The secret to this recipe really is the brine. Without it, it's just a normal fried chicken recipe. I used garlic & onion powders, not salt in my breading - also added in a dash each of paprika and dry mustard powder. Used 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, could definitely have used more. I didn't do it this time because I was in a rush but HIGHLY suggest that you do a double breading on these. Nearly all of my flour coating flaked off while frying and I did let them dry for 15 mins before cooking. Next time I may do a panko breading on top of the flour. This was a great recipe and I'll be making it again. I may also try upping this brine and doing a whole turkey breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This chicken was good.. it was moist and tasty, but nothing special. Will make again sometime.. but when I have time for the steps to make it. The prep time is alot longer than 10 minutes, so if your looking for quick.. this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiediedgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Honestly speechless over how good this was. We served a fresh romaine tossed salad with some homemade buttermilk dressing on the side. It was true perfection. Now one of our traditional "SundaySuppers!" MAKE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was my first time making fried chicken and it turned out juicy and delicious. I also didn't feel like I have a bunch of grease in my mouth after eating this. I did have to change a few things: I didn't have cayenne pepper so I doubled my black pepper, garlic powder instead of garlic salt, no onion salt, reduced fat milk since I didn't have buttermilk, and I used regular salt. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States