Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Great Muffins! always a hit with my family. Heres a tip: I found that if I use a good brand of bran (kellogs or the like) it absorbs much better then the cheaper no name brand. After a long time of refrideration the no name brand will still be quite "sloshy", rather then absorbing moisture while in the fridge it seemed to absorb during the baking time. Not a big deal just a matter of personal preference I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've been using this recipe for several years and just now remembered to review it. :o) It is the BEST bran muffin recipe I've ever tried. I did make some changes, as it looks like most everyone else did too. I use apple juice and chopped apples instead of the pineapple juice and raisins originally called for. I also add 1 tsp cinnamon and a dash of cloves to the flour mixture. I had a problem with the cereal retaining some of the flour and having white clumps on it, so I mix the cereal in separately - after the flour mixture has been incorporated with the wet ingredients. You need to use bran FLAKES - I buy the store brand that says 100% whole bran flakes and it works great. I've also subbed applesauce for the oil, and the only difference noted was they didn't rise quite as much. I use olive oil if I leave the oil in, and it doesn't taste olive-y after it's cooked. I've also made them with pineapple juice and chopped pineapple, and it's excellent that way also. The batter is very thin initially, but I let it sit overnight and it's perfect in the morning. I use an ice cream scoop to measure into the muffin tins. I normally make a double batch of muffins and freeze them. Thank you so much for an awesome recipe! Definitely FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I've used egg beaters to replace the eggs; have added up to 1 c. shredded carrots as well - both with excellent results! Cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice are also excellent additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
These muffins came out beautifully! I used General Mills' All-Bran cereal and was out of raisins, so I looked through my pantry and decided on using apricots which I chopped. Another difference I made was using Juicy Juice brand's Orange Tangerine juice instead of pineapple juice (didn't have any). After chilling for 3 hours, I used a cookie-dough spring action-type scoop to distribute the batter into the muffine cups - 2 scoops was the perfect amount to fill regular-sized muffin tins. I baked the muffins for 15 minutes, and they came out perfectly - 20 min. would be way too long. In the end, I was able to make 27 muffins, not bad. :) The next time I make these, I think I would crush the bran cereal a bit to avoid the bran "chunks" as I call them. I think making the bran a bit more discreet would be better. Also, I baked the muffins in aluminum muffin cups. This didn't change the speed of cooking (they ended up the same aas they would if they were in paper ones); but I did this so I could keep them fresh by refrigerating, then I can heat them up in the toaster oven each morning so I could have a 'hot, fresh muffin.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe is no joke FABULOUS!!!! I put a little honey in bottom of cups and on top of batter before baking. I also used 1 cup of dried pineapple instead of raisins. they dont look that great but they taste great. Very close to Mimis cafe honey bran muffins. Just what I was looking for! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Great bran muffins! They were not too heavy and very moist. I also used apple juice instead of pineapple. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Wow these were great! I made a few changes: I used whole wheat flour instead of regular. I also substitued 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I cut the honey down to 1/4 cup. And I used eggbeaters as previously suggested! I used All-Bran cereal. And I did use pineapple juice because I happened to have some on hand - I love what pinapple juice does for these muffins! Just great! I made half the muffins after the batter chilled for 3 hours and only had to bake them 15 minutes before they were done. I will make the rest of them tomorrow and see if they can possibly be any better(I doubt it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockin*army*wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Creston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I'm not usually a big bran muffin fan but, this recipe is GREAT. My husband loved it and so did I. I omitted the raisins since I don't like raisins and added nuts instead. They were delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I found this recipe to be tasty, it really doesn't taste like a heavy bran muffin. The tempeture of 400F is a little too warm to be baking muffins so I turned it down to 350F. Also be aware that the muffins stick to the muffin cups! Other then those set backs the taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
great moist recipe, used apple juice, with a little extra honey along with some mini chocolate chips. moist and delicous. **use good muffin pans along with spray.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States