Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
These muffins came out beautifully! I used General Mills' All-Bran cereal and was out of raisins, so I looked through my pantry and decided on using apricots which I chopped. Another difference I made was using Juicy Juice brand's Orange Tangerine juice instead of pineapple juice (didn't have any). After chilling for 3 hours, I used a cookie-dough spring action-type scoop to distribute the batter into the muffine cups - 2 scoops was the perfect amount to fill regular-sized muffin tins. I baked the muffins for 15 minutes, and they came out perfectly - 20 min. would be way too long. In the end, I was able to make 27 muffins, not bad. :) The next time I make these, I think I would crush the bran cereal a bit to avoid the bran "chunks" as I call them. I think making the bran a bit more discreet would be better. Also, I baked the muffins in aluminum muffin cups. This didn't change the speed of cooking (they ended up the same aas they would if they were in paper ones); but I did this so I could keep them fresh by refrigerating, then I can heat them up in the toaster oven each morning so I could have a 'hot, fresh muffin.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very easy to make and delicious. Bran muffins can be dry but these were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scandia, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Good taste but definitely time needs adjusting. the bottoms were burned on all of them. Dough was really tough to pour and had to scooped into muffin pan. Will definitely have a go at them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
After much trial and error I've found if I zap the All Bran in my food processor a bit before measuring out, I get a great textured muffin. After they've cooled, it's off to the freezer with the lot of them-individually wrapped so we can grab one each morning, heading out to work. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Good bran muffin recipe. Pineapple juice is the key ingredient for me. I baked for 20 minutes and some of the bottoms were burnt. I will cook for 15-18 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Beautiful, sweet and moist muffins. Try adding dates instead of raisins for a change. I also add 2 fresh apples cut into small pieces. I cook the lot and freeze most of them to have one every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I love this recipe! My only change was to use whole wheat flour instead of regular, and I cooked the first batch for 20 minutes and they were overdone. So, on the next several batches I stuck between 10-15 minutes and that seemed to be perfect. Probably varies from oven to oven, so my suggestion would be just to carefully watch your first batch and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tld

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I used stone-ground whole wheat flour, cut the brown sugar in half, and subbed chopped dates for raisins. As someone else said, this recipe is VERY forgiving and even with my changes it turned out great! I did add about 3/4 cup water to the chilled muffin mix before baking because the wheat flour dried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I love the subtle taste of the pineapple juice in these muffins. I've used regular raisins when I don't have golden on hand and are every bit as good. I do cut back on the brown sugar a bit tho to 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup instead of the full cup. The convience of making the batter the day before baking them is teriffic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Breslau, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilovesweets
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
These were delicious, sweet and moist. I made some with and without raisins. Both tasted great and disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States