Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I substituted apple sauce for oil, and apple juice for pineapple. It tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
It is fabulous! Did not change a thing about it and it turned very good! I used dole pineapple juice and Kellogg's All-Bran Original cereal. I put a few muffins in the freezer and the rest has been on the counter for three days - still fresh, moist and good. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Definitely 5 stars I made a few changes I used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour (Robin Hood) and 1/4 cup ground flax instead of the all purpose flour. I used 1/3 cup of Coconut sugar instead of the brown sugar, I used 1/4 cup of milk in place of the honey, I used sunflower oil instead of vegetable oil, I used 1/2 cup pineapple juice and 1/2 cup orange juice instead of 1 cup of pineapple juice. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I just used a couple of pinches of salt and I cooked it at 425F for 11 minutes and 400F for 11 minutes these muffins have a great taste lots of flavour and very moist, they have just the right amount of sweetness i let them sit in the fridge for about 5 hours. It made 13 muffins that is with the recipe cut in half Thanks June M for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is a great bran muffin recipe. I think next time I would add some cinnamon for some extra flavor. 18 minutes cooking time no cupcake liners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Loved these. My husband even said they were good. The test will be if the toddler likes them or not. Used applesauce instead of oil. Didn't have enough raisins, so used some chopped dates and chopped dried apricots to add up to 2 c. of fruit. Also used raisin bran, raisins and all, so they're a bit overly fruity, but still quite yummy. Batter made 12 regular sized muffins, 24 mini muffins and had enough left over to put in a loaf pan for some slices. Used muffin cups, but sprayed them with cooking spray and haven't had a problem with them sticking. Next time I plan to use whole wheat flour and maybe some mini chocolate chips for my toddler (she loves chocolate chip muffins). Can't wait to try all the variations I've read about for these. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This turned out awesome! I used whole wheat flour instead of white which gave it a grainier taste, but still delicious. Instead of oil used the same amount of applesauce and didn't have the full 2 cups of raisins, so supplemented with a 1/2 cup of craisins. Gave it a little bit of tartness. The last thing is I didn't have any muffin pans so used a bundt cake pan. Overall, turned out great and will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I love this recipe but I make a few changes. We don't like raisins in my family so I omit those and then once I pull the mix out of the fridge after resting it overnight, I add 1 1/2 cups of frozen blueberries and I grate 2 large carrots into the mix for extra moisture and nutrition. I also find the recipe as-is a bit too sweet so I halved the brown sugar. It was still plenty sweet so I may try to cut it out totally next time. The honey, pineapple, blueberries, and the sugar already in the cereal make it sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Great recipe!! Changes I made included using whole wheat flour instead of white flour, and adding 1 tsp of cinnamon to the dry inredients mix. Yummy! Moist, filling, and goes great with my morning coffee/tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These were not bad. They are fluffy and moist on the inside, but they were a bit bland. Twenty minutes was far too long to cook them, unless you use cupcake cups. I added buttermilk and extra sugar to to my second batch to make these a little tastier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I make these often for my family. The only thing I change is I use a diced apple in place of the raisins and apple juice in place of the pineapple juice. This is only because I usually have those on hand more often. These turn out great every time. The batter really doesn't look like it will turn out right when you first make them, but don't worry it does thicken up and bake wonderfully after refrigerating all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States