Honey Black Pepper Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
If the flavor is burning away, the oil must be too hot. Let the oil cool down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrKhay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
As others have said, when fried seemed that wings lost taste and the only thing soakng did was help turn wings a very deep dark brown. Another one gone bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Bruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Speonk, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Needs hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
The flavor of this marinade is really good - too bad it gets fried to smithereens. I made the wings as directed, but agree with others that these should be baked in order to keep the flavor. By the time my wings were done, the marinade had gotten kinda "burny" looking and tasting. They are still good - but I think they could be great if they were cooked differently. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
These wings were very oily and lost all the flavor that the marinade gave them. Next time, I will bake them so they can keep the flavor. I'm sure they would taste a lot better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
My husband and I love our local Chinese Buffets Black Pepper Chicken. We have tried to duplicate it but with no luck. When I saw this recipe I thought I'd give it a shot. WoW!! It was very close. I did make some changes. I used chicken breasts and I marinated them 4 hours. Instead of deep frying them I first cut them into bite size pieces and then sauteed them in about 1/2 cup of veg. oil. After they were close to done I drained the oil and added the marinade, some water chestnuts and some rather large slices of onion (that is how it is done at the buffet). I thicked the sauce with Wondra. I will use this recipe again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I was disappointed in this recipie's instructions. They were okay deep fried, but they weren't spectacular. When the wings are deep fried, they lose any sort of flavor they were marinated in. I did throw a couple in the oven to bake after I didn't like them fried, and those were good. I'd like to throw them on the grill too. I'm sure they'd be good that way as well. Fried just doesn't work with this recipie, all the good bits of onion, garlic, and ginger fall off when stuck in a pot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is an exelent recipe,I added a tlb. of wasabi,it sure kicked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States