Honey Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Oh my, I loved this! I will admit that I purchased a jar of delicious sweet and spicy baby beets from a farm stand and did use those, wanting to do something different with them. To try it out, I made just a small bowlful, adding the parsley, walnuts, onion, salt/pepper and blue cheese. I wanted it more moist, so I drizzled with a little olive oil and beet juice. The end result, I believe, was pretty close to what you'd get from the recipe. So many healthy ingredients is a plus! A definite keeper, someday to try with exact ingredients. Thanks byrnesette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Good and easy to make in advance and leave in the fridge. I leave a good half cup of the cheese and chopped nuts in a separate bowl and add them at the last minute so they retain their own flavors and are not soggy. Also, (full disclosure), I was lazy and used canned beets. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Hess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I used vanilla fig balsamic vinegar, and substituted crumbled feta for the blue cheese. Perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I LOVE pickled beets and this tastes just like them! I could have eaten the whole bowl by myself. I didn't even include the walnuts, onion or parsley and they were still that delicious. I used my pressure cooker which cooked the beets in 15 minutes vs 1 hour in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is a great way to use up beets from the garden. It was very tasty even without having the sweet onions and parsley to include. I also used feta, since that's what we had on hand. I always wear gloves now when working with the beets, and it makes life so much easier. My husband just suggested maybe adding a little more honey next time. I will definitely be making again and probably need to double recipe, since everyone enjoyed so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great salad recipe as-is! I think the key with the onions is to use sweet onion. I also let them soak in the dressing before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I thought it was a good way to serve beets that keep coming out of my garden! I cut back on onion and used feta cheese only because I don't care for blue cheese. Also, I didn't have parsley, but tasted good without it. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Simple and delicious dressing for beets. I left out the onion - just personal preference. Also, substituted goat cheese for blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Simply a delicious recipe! I may have added just a wee bit more blue cheese than the recipe calls for, because I love blue cheese! I've added it to my recipe box, and will be making more, soon. It's Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Made this for a potluck, so doubled the recipe and it was excellent. I did as another reviewer recommended and reduced the onion to a couple of tbsp rather than 1/4 cup. The combination of flavors is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States