Honey Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This recipe is delicious - I've made it many, many times. I always follow the dressing ingredients exactly. I have varied the bean combinations and any are great. I like extra vegetables and crunch, so I always add 2 chopped sweet bell peppers, 2 or more ribs of chopped celery and a couple of green onions. I find there is enough dressing in the original recipe to accommodate the extra ingredients nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by w1shfulth1nker
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Woah, this tastes awesome! The title of the recipe seriously messes me up, because honey? And beans? Luckily it got good ratings, and I was out of everything I needed to make regular 3 bean salad, so I HAD to give it a try! So happy I did. Delicious, no hint of honey (I suppose it balances out the vinegar - so don't worry about eating sweet, cold beans!), and very flavorful. Followed the recipe exactly, except used only half the oil and added some raw onion. My new go-to bean salad recipe! Try it people, don't be afraid of it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Really good, although I found it a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This salad is sooo fine. I've made it numerous times now since first stumbling upon it. I make it about once a week. I've added macaroni and kale and an extra white bean and have used the two kidney beans. I've made it so many times that now I have to get another large jar of honey from the grocer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I added rice to the kidney beans just because I had some (and one of the pictures looked like it had rice in it!). I didn't add hot sauce just because I was giving it to my little girls. Other than that, just follow this recipe exactly. It's so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Try also adding two stalks celery chopped and switch honey for brown rice syrup ! Even yummier and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This has a wonderful flavor even without the hot pepper sauce. (I can't eat that as I am solanine toxic.) Today I'm making it with one can of dark red, one can of light red kidney beans, and one can of garbanzo beans to liven it up for a church potluck. It should be just as nice, as the liquid was ample for the two cans of kidneys in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathryn Swallia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
The ingredient list intrigued me, so I made half a batch (and added some chopped red onion, since the onion in the photo looked good and other reviewers liked that addition). I made it last night to have for lunch at work this week and I must say that I really liked it. I do feel sorry for any co-worker I breathe on this afternoon, but this was a healthy lunch that I enjoyed with some reduced fat pita chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Loved this! I doubled the recipe added chickpeas, blackbeans and lima beans also a small sweet onion. I omitted the hot sauce but this was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is a wonderful way to eat kidney beans! We skipped the sage and hot sauce cause the kids don't care for those. We all loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States