Honey Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Since I am the originator of this sauce, I thought I would add a few things that I ahve changed. The amount of ketchup I now use is about 1 cup. I only use about 3/4 cup brown sugar now, an dno molasses. I have also added finely chopped onions. When it needs a bit of kick I add jalepenos chopped very fine. This is to your own taste. (I have a friend that adds several, including all the seeds. He LOVES hot foods.) Thank you for all of your reviews. I have found each one helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
We needed a sauce for our baby back ribs and gave this one a shot. There are a lot of ingredients you need for this recipe, but it is well worth the effort! It is incredibly delicious and people just can't get enough of it! We marinade half a rack of ribs with the marinade in tightly wrapped foil packets overnight, then pop them in the oven for two and a half hours at 300 degrees. The meat falls off the bone! We save some of the sauce and spread it on the ribs after they cook in the oven and put them on the grill for 5 minutes or so, just to carmelize and crunch up the outside a little. Unbelievable!! Give it a shot! ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This recipe is great. My family loves it. However, I would recommend skipping the brown sugar since the 1 cup of honey the recipe called for was enough sweetness. Also, use fresh grated ginger instead. Very easy to do and tastes delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
We bought 2 HUGE packs of chicken wings and realized after starting the grill and the rest of the meal that we had no BBQ sauce! We tried this one after looking over all the choices on allrecipes.com. It looked questionable in the blender; it tasted questionable. Threw the wings on the grill, basted. Turned 'em over, basted. Basted again-hubby is so meticulous! Basically drowned the little suckers in the sauce, and still had about 1/4 left. They looked great, they smelled incredible, and they tasted AWESOME! Highly recommend this sauce for chicken!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very good sauce. I only made a few changes. I cut the brown sugar down to about half a cup (which was still very sweet) and cut down the honey as well. I also added about half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes to make it a little spicy. I did heat it over the stove on medium heat for about 20 minutes, I think it helped the flavors come together better. The result was a really good, mildly sweet barbecue sauce with some kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
this is an excellent sauce,exp if you have young children who don't like spicy sauces. Although if cooking for adults only, I would add some tobasco, or red pepper flakes to jazz it up a little. Very easy, very quick. although igf you are using it as a dipping sauce you will want to cook it to get rid of the borwn sugar graininess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
At first the sauce turned out very grainy because of the sugar. I cooked it slowly to try to get the sugar to dissolve. Once it dissolved I added about 3 Tbsp. of vinegar to cut down on the sweetness. I enjoyed it after that, but it wasn't the best I have had and my husband did not like the overall flavor -- too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I made pork spareribs last night and made this sauce at the last minute. Oh my gosh, it was delicious! My kids loved it and so did I, I wouldn't change a thing. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This recipe was absolutely delicous!! It took a lot of ingredients and I nearly tore my blender up making it but it was well worth it. I used it to marinate chicken and then baked it in the oven. It is very sweet, so those of you who don't like that need to stay away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe several times for chicken wings. I has gone over very well with my BF. He requests them all the time. Easy recipe that makes wings better then you can get in a restaurant! Amazing how you can make a cheap meat (chicken wings) taste so yummy! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jody d

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States