Honey Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
All in all a good recipe. I boiled 4lbs of ribs for an hour, then poured the sauce over them and baked them for another hour and a half, basting them twice. When the ribs were done, this sauce almost reminded me of the red sticky stuff on a candied apple. I will definitely reduce to half or even leave out the brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Really good when you half the honey and sugar, add more ketchup, and delete the molasses. I was out of bbq sauce and didn't want to run to the store, I had all the ingredients, so I gave it a shot. I cooked this over ribs and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Since I am the originator of this sauce, I thought I would add a few things that I ahve changed. The amount of ketchup I now use is about 1 cup. I only use about 3/4 cup brown sugar now, an dno molasses. I have also added finely chopped onions. When it needs a bit of kick I add jalepenos chopped very fine. This is to your own taste. (I have a friend that adds several, including all the seeds. He LOVES hot foods.) Thank you for all of your reviews. I have found each one helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Too sweet! I thought I liked sweet BBQ sauce but this was too sweet even for me. I would just recommend using half the honey and brown sugar. You can always add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very good sauce. I only made a few changes. I cut the brown sugar down to about half a cup (which was still very sweet) and cut down the honey as well. I also added about half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes to make it a little spicy. I did heat it over the stove on medium heat for about 20 minutes, I think it helped the flavors come together better. The result was a really good, mildly sweet barbecue sauce with some kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was so easy and delicious! I heated the left over sauce for a warm dipping sauce that was a tremendous hit. I used it for chicken and ribs; it was great on both. Next time, I will add some chopped onion and more garlic and cook it down a bit to dissolve the sugar and mix the flavors. (There will be lots of "next times" for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
too much steak sauce - i simmered some bar-b-q in it, and that helped. the sweet and sharp flavors just didn't meld together well. it was good, not great, but i won't make it again. thanks anyway! 4 stars anyway, since i think barbecue sauce is a very personal thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
My family really loved this recipe. Suggestion to simmer sauce for about 1/2 hour and to add about 2 tablespoons of hotsauce and a little onion. I will be sure to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I thought this was really good. It's the best that I have found to compare to my son-in-laws who refuses to give up his recipe. I will get it and when I do I will put it on this website. It is fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States