Honey Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Really good when you half the honey and sugar, add more ketchup, and delete the molasses. I was out of bbq sauce and didn't want to run to the store, I had all the ingredients, so I gave it a shot. I cooked this over ribs and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Since I am the originator of this sauce, I thought I would add a few things that I ahve changed. The amount of ketchup I now use is about 1 cup. I only use about 3/4 cup brown sugar now, an dno molasses. I have also added finely chopped onions. When it needs a bit of kick I add jalepenos chopped very fine. This is to your own taste. (I have a friend that adds several, including all the seeds. He LOVES hot foods.) Thank you for all of your reviews. I have found each one helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Too sweet! I thought I liked sweet BBQ sauce but this was too sweet even for me. I would just recommend using half the honey and brown sugar. You can always add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very good sauce. I only made a few changes. I cut the brown sugar down to about half a cup (which was still very sweet) and cut down the honey as well. I also added about half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes to make it a little spicy. I did heat it over the stove on medium heat for about 20 minutes, I think it helped the flavors come together better. The result was a really good, mildly sweet barbecue sauce with some kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was so easy and delicious! I heated the left over sauce for a warm dipping sauce that was a tremendous hit. I used it for chicken and ribs; it was great on both. Next time, I will add some chopped onion and more garlic and cook it down a bit to dissolve the sugar and mix the flavors. (There will be lots of "next times" for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
too much steak sauce - i simmered some bar-b-q in it, and that helped. the sweet and sharp flavors just didn't meld together well. it was good, not great, but i won't make it again. thanks anyway! 4 stars anyway, since i think barbecue sauce is a very personal thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
My family really loved this recipe. Suggestion to simmer sauce for about 1/2 hour and to add about 2 tablespoons of hotsauce and a little onion. I will be sure to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I thought this was really good. It's the best that I have found to compare to my son-in-laws who refuses to give up his recipe. I will get it and when I do I will put it on this website. It is fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Really good sauce. Will use this again for many things. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States