Honey Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
The absolute best. I subbed Maple for the Honey just because we have an abundance from tapping. After making this numerous times, I decided to skip the brown sugar, way to sweet. This recipe with my own little tweeking has gotten me RAVES. It's been suggested I bottle this to sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I goofed a bit as my 1/4 cup was somewhere else, not realizing this I added 2/3 cup molasses and then totally missed the ketchup. Not remembering again I added 1/3 cup steak sauce... forgot the garlic... and had no meat tenderizer ...my ribs had been steamed cooked for 3 hours already so needed to tenderize. .. oh, and used Grey Poupon for the mustard... Still came out great. To taste the molasses was quite strong but once applied, it mellowed out and the ribs were finger licking good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good and easy recipe. Did not have a barbecue sauce recipe of my own but I will use this one from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
With having our own honey bees, I am always on the hunt for recipes using honey. This one is a sure keeper! I served it with grilled chicken, it has a great flavor, will be made often in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Wow this was fantastic. I had people begging for this recipe as I used it for a neighborhood block party. Thank you so much, the recipe was perfect just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE1124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My husband and I love KC Masterpiece Honey BBQ and I've been looking for my own recipe. This is really good! This is the first one that we've tried that does not taste like spicy ketchup. In the future, I will work on cutting the sugar down a bit, because this is a LOT of sugar. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Wow, this was great! I've never made my own barbecue sauce and for some reason, my fussy family was very skeptical of me making it instead of using store bought (makes no sense to me either!). I omitted a few things I didn't have or want to buy (molasses, meat tenderizer and ground ginger). Otherwise, stayed as is and wow, everyone was impressed!! It was a total hit!! I will be making this again for sure! I'll probably make it ahead when we go camping so we can grill outside or make barbecue, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferRT66

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
made this and used it to baste chicken breasts. It wasn't the sweetness itself that bothered me--I like very, very sweet bbq sauces--but rather a lack of complexity other than that slightly tangy sweetness. I thought either a spiciness or a smokiness would have complemented it beautifully but without either it just tasted rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Found I didn't have barbecue on hand so I made this recipe. Amazingly I had all the ingredients. Delicious! I have a new barbecue sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Loved it! I did cut the honey a bit and the brown sugar in half. I was out of steak sauce so I doubled the Worcestershire. I add red pepper flakes as others have said. Excellent results, sweet but not too much, a bit spicy...the mustard comes through...It's a keeper for me! I used it on ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States