Honey Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This has been my "go to" recipe when I need a sweet, Carolina style BBQ sauce since I first came across it. It is excellent for pork and chicken. Beef...not so much. I modify the original recipe by increasing the the ketchup to 3/4 cup, add 1/4 cup cider vineger to offset some of the sweetness (this sauce is quite sweet), add 1 tsp each of onion and garlic powder to add a little more punch. Also, try substituting buckwheat honey for the molasses and add chili pepper flakes for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I love sweet bbq, but this was waaay too sweet. I cut the honey in half and it was still too sweet. I ended up adding tomato paste and vinegar with a little smoke. It helped, but this tasted more like a brown sugar bbq than honey bbq. Just my opinion. Next time If I try this again, I will cut the brown sugar amounts way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
OMG This is the best BBQ sauce EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Threw this sauce together for my slow cooker pulled meat chicken. I skipped the meat tenderizer. By my taste test of the sauce, I give it 2 thumbs up! My leftover sauce will go on burgers tomorrow :-p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Excellent! Just made this and my two-year old won't quit dipping for a taste! We're having pulled chicken tonight and this is the sauce I made to go with it...Yum! I followed Kimberly D's suggestion to change ketchup to 1 cup and brown sugar to 3/4 cup. ThAnX for a yummy BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I didn't have the molasses, but fortunately I saw the review with the creator saying that they no longer used the molasses, so I tried creating this recipe with what I had and by throwing in a little bit (perhaps 1/8th of a teaspoon? I'm more of a pinch and toss person than an exact measurement type of girl) of onion powder and bam, it was some of the most delicious barbecue sauce I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I dont know what did I wrong to this sauce. It did no come out so well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Good. A little too sweet for my tastes, so i took the advice of another cook and added red pepper flakes. I prepared this sauce for turkey cutlets and thought it was very good! I will make this again omitting the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Thanks Kimberly. Better without brown sugar and molasses - honey is sweet enough. Also added red pepper flakes because we like it spicy. Really appreciate you doing the heavy lifting with the spices! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicajody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This sauce is such a big hit at my house. It's one of those great recipes that you can have fun experimenting with to get exactly the flavor you want. I think the molasses makes this recipe, so I left it in. I didn't use meat tenderizer or seasoned salts, but instead upped the amount of salt, pepper and oregano. I also like to add a couple of splashes of liquid smoke. I've already used it twice in two weeks on oven baked chicken, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States