Honey Baked Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This recipe is really delicious. I replaced the chicken stock with a low sodium vegetable broth, to make it vegetarian, and it was perfect. Despite some of the other reviews that said there was too much liquid, I found that the amounts specified in the recipe were just right. I used green lentils, of course, but I'd bet some of the others used red lentils, which caused problems in terms of the liquid. My only other comment is that this is sweet! Next time I'll use a bit less honey. My 3 year old and 5 year old gobbled this up on rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Probably the lentils I like best so far . . .I will say I have tried several and haven't liked them; I think they are really bland. These, though, are better bc there is flavor in them. I'd probably add more ginger and ground mustard, but otherwise it was good. The honey works well in this, although I was somewhat concerned. A caution if you halve this: you may need to add more liquid than what is called for, as mine started to burn at the time indicated on the stove. Next time, I'd just add more water and keep a closer eye on them. I was able to rescue them before they all did, but it seems lentils need lots of water! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Oh. my. goodness. This has literally become one of my favorite, FAVORITE dishes to make! I just made it for the second time. It is so delicious! I followed the recipe to the absolute (something that is hard for me, hah), and it was perfect. I served it over plain white rice with a vegetable on the side (asparagus, a salad, etc.). I will make this again and again! Correction: I looked back at the recipe and realized I did make two small changes. I didn't have whole bay leaves so I just sprinkled some of my crushed bay leaves in (which I could not remove after boiling, of course, so just left them in). Also, I didn't have dry mustard so I just used a tsp of regular yellow mustard. Worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These were great! I didn't use all of the honey, and I'm glad I didn't it would've been way too much. They had great flavor and made enough for a weeks worth of lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curtdea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I really liked these. I've been trying to encorporate more lentils in my diet and this was a great recipe for all. I did cut the recipe down to 2 servings and thought it still served at least 6 so you may not want to trust the serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Always my problem with lentils - the recipe NEVER states which type of lentils to use. Anyone remotely familiar with lentils knows that there are several varieties. I grew up in Asia, so I am most familiar with yellow and orange lentils. I used a combination of those two (10 oz yellow, 6 oz orange). I ended up with watery, watery MUSH. I suspected this might be a problem after the initial cook time they still had tons of liquid and already were starting to look mushy, but I gave the recipe the benefit of the doubt and added the extra cup of water anyways. I ended up with soup. However, the flavor was fantastic, and I intend to serve leftovers over brown rice tomorrow. Word to the wise: think BIGGER varieties of lentils (i.e. Split pea type) as these would need a lot more liquid to cook down. All in all, I will make this again, as it is somehow deliciously reminiscent of my childhood in Asia, although I am certain we never added honey to our lentils! One last note - my pot was more like a soup pot, so not much surface area for water to evaporate. Next time I might pour these into a 9x13 for the bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Not great... For the time it took you're better off making lentil soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I think the initial cooking time for the lentils is too long. I followed the recipe and what I wound up with was more like lentil mush. The flavor is alright, but kind of distracting. It's odd tasting sweet lentils and the baby food like texture I got from this recipe wasn't that appealing. I might try this again but cook the lentils for less time initially so that they hold their shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were very good considering my options. I used this recipe for the Daniel Fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States