Honey Baked Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! My first time making a meal with lentils. The only ingredient I didn't have was ground ginger. I used a dash of ground cloves instead and it turned out so good. I served the lentils over brown rice with a side of fried cabbage. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Fanstatic!! Just loved this recipe. I was soo worried about all the water in this recipe. But when the product was done...it really looked like a thick coarse refried beans with a hint of sweetness...not so much either. I had never eated lentils like this before and only tried a could of times in a soup. So as I got done with the 1st step in cooking the lentils in the water and broth, I was surprised at what flavor it held on it's own with out having pepper added. having said that...I really liked them before I got started with the 2nd step. I will totally make this again and again. My whole family loved them but my son...but that was to be expected. Looking at this recipe the one thing I changed but it's because I didn't want a high sugar content to it, was change to a sugar free alternative to the honey. It was just delish! And to think lentils are soo high in protein amazed me. 1/4 cup of cooked lentils yields 10 grams of protein!! This makes me very happy. Do try this recipe. it was really really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Wow, these are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Awesome! I've been looking for recipes that my toddler would like, and this is one of them! Very good for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These were ok. Try the baked lentils with cheese from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
These lentils are awesome. Even my husband loved them and he is not a lentil fan. The only change I made was to decrease the salt from 2 teaspoons to a 1/4 teaspoon. I try to cook low-sodium and after adding chicken broth and soy sauce, I figured I needed to reduce the salt. They were still delicious and anyone who wants more salt could just add some to their portion. Thanks for a great recipe sassymom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Not Bad! I added a cup of tomato sauce instead of water before I put it in the oven and it ended up tasting like baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notasardine
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These were pretty good. I'm not sure I'm crazy about sweet lentils but they were easy and good for someone who doesn't like lentils very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were distasterous for me. I didnt see anything anywhere about soaking them ahead of time, so I didn't. I followed the directions, even ended up boiling them for a little longer just because they still seemed really firm. I baked them for an hour and they were still firm. Another 1/2 hour and still firm Had to add more liquid and baked for another hour if not more. Guess what, they were still firm and the liquid was all gone so they were kind of dry too. By this time (we had eaten almost 2 hours before) so I finally gave up because they still weren't ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States