Honey Baked Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Everyone loved this recipe! I tweaked it a bit. Half the butter and even there probably could have dropped it a bit more. Doubled the curry, used sweet and spicy prepared mustard, 1/4 chopped onion, 1 clove of garlic and baked at same temperature but covered with foil for first 30 minutes and then uncovered and basted every 8 mins or so. Finally broiled for last 2 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I cooked this last night and wow!!! I did find a couple of the reviews helpful. I halved the butter and the honey. used creole mustard, Louisiana spice, a dash of cayenne, and garlic. I cooked the chicken as suggested covered for thirty minutes and then removed the chicken. i added four large sweet potatoes sliced thick and cut in half spread across the pan and then put the chicken in and among the potatoes. Not a morsel of anything left! My daughter used bread to clean the dish!!!! So with this in mind, I will double the sauce next time and cook two 9x13 pans of this. This is truly one of the easiest and best chicken dishes I have ever cooked and eaten! Rave reviews from all. I actually can't wait to cook it again….and again… Thank you Gretchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My mom made this recipe for me when I was a kid. I'd beg for it. She always made it with Uncle B's White Rice. Now, I make the exact same recipe, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Pretty good . I've tried this with no less skinless but it tastes best with skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Amazing! Read the reviews and made the suggested tweaks and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Rich flavor with few ingredients. My family enjoyed it. I halved the butter portion, doubled the curry, and added pepper, garlic, onions, and seasoning salt to satisfy our palate. Marinated thighs, drumsticks, and wings in the honey sauce for 2 hours, then baked covered with foil for first 30 minutes, then uncovered for the rest as recommended by some raters. However, in the pursuit of the perfect brown finish, I prolonged the bakery time, and unfortunately over cooked it. Family still enjoyed the flavors without even realizing the over baked state of the chicken like I did. I will try it without the foil next time for a more tender quality to final chicken product. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I actually left the butter out all together (unintentionally) and this was still delicious! I added garlic salt & cayenne and put the thinly sliced onions on the bottom of the dish. Those onions were amazing! Next time I'll double them! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This really is a simple and good recipe and just like the other reviewers said you would need to add more curry than required or you would just have honey mustard sauce... I also think you do need to add cyannne pepper and most def decrease the butter.. In fact you can substitute the better for EVOO. Add some garlic powder & slice onions over the chicken before pouring the sauce over it.. Cover with foil for the first 40 minutes of baking .. then take the cover off turn up temperature to 400 degrees .... OMG the taste is great I did this over to big leg quarters.. The next time I do it I will let the chicken marinate in the sauce in a ziplock bag overnight. Also poke holes in the chicken for a full marinade . I also suggest using a Dijon mustard or Spicy mustard ... just so you will not have THE TYPICAL HONEY MUSTARD flavor.. Also adding Gram Marsala will put a good twist on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was a great recipe, and so easy to make! Next I am going to try some of the other variations I have read such as using dijon mustard and adding garlic! My family loved it though! Even my picky, 73 year old mother, who normally doesn't like chicken, ate this and liked it!! (I made one boneless breast just for her! The rest was legs and thighs)This is definitely a keeper in my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I really liked this quick, easy recipe. I used boneless chicken breast which unfortunately doesn't hold the flavor as much but next time I will definitely make more of the sauce to use over mashed potatoes, rice, pasta, etc. I had sauteed peppers on the side with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States