Honey Baked Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I changed the recipe somewhat after making it as written the first time. I agree with others that the butter should be cut in half. When I made it as written the first time it was just too greasy for me. The reason I'm keeping the 5 stars is because of all the recipes I've tried from this website THIS is the recipe my family keeps asking me to make. It is simply delicious! Except for cutting the butter in half I keep the ingredients the same. I found that it bakes best covered in foil at 350 degress for the first 30 minutes. Then foil is removed and chicken is basted, basking for another 40 minutes or so until nicely browned. Served with roasted red new potatoes and mixed veggies. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1565 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Katora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
FABULICIOUS! Who knew you could mix honey, mustard, and curry to create such a marvelous flavor? Now I know! I used boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut the butter in half, used ½ teas. regular salt and ½ teas. garlic salt, doubled the curry powder, and added ¼ teas. cayenne pepper. I also poked holes in the chicken and let it marinate in the sauce in the fridge for at least an hour before baking it, then put in the oven - 30 minutes covered with aluminum foil, then 20 minutes uncovered. I paired it with brown rice and garlic roasted asparagus, for an amazing meal. Bless you Gretchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
858 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I had to make this chicken three different times just to make sure it was good, and guess what? It was fantastic all three times, one point, is to cover the chicken in the beginning with foil so it won't burn, so just before it is done, uncover it and cook till it is a nice brown. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
726 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Excellent flavor! My husband asked me to make it TWICE this week! I made the following modifications based on other reviews and personal preference: I cut the butter to 1/4 cup, used spicy brown mustard, and upped the curry powder to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I also added one large clove of garlic, minced, a scant 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, and half and onion sliced very thin. I used chicken thighs, and there was enough sauce to do a dozen between two casserole dishes. I coated them well and baked them covered at 350 degrees for an hour, turning halfway through. I then removed the foil, basted them again, turned the oven up to 400, and baked them skin side up for an additional 20 minutes. The skin got nice and brown and crisp. After baking, there was a lot of fat from the chicken. I separated the fat and ended up with a nice sauce. I served the chicken on a bed of long grain/wild rice topped with the sauce - which was really excellent on the rice. The changes I made resulted in a mildly spicy background flavor that really complimented the sweetness of the honey mustard. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Wow, this was surprisingly delicious. I used 4 skinless, boneless breasts and cut the butter to 2 tablespoons. I also eliminated the curry and marinated the chicken for about 4 hours in the sauce mixture. It was so tender and delicious, everyone was pouring the remaining sauce on their chicken. I didn't even baste it during cooking and it was great. Very easy meal- Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Scrumdiddlyumptious!!!! Increased the curry to 1.5 tsp, cut back the butter to 1/4 cup and added 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper. Picky husband loved it!!!! Thanks Gretchen for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I have been using a modified version of this recipe for more than 20 years. It is best with chicken thighs. I have also used turkey breast tenderloins cut into serving pieces and had it turn out very well. My recipe calls for 1/2 c honey, 1/3 c mustard and 1/4 c butter, 2 t curry powder and no salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
We had this for dinner yesterday and it tasted and looked great! Changes I made to the recipe: I skipped the butter - figured the chicken skin would impart enough oils during cooking. I used dijon mustard instead of yellow for a little more spicyness. Added a teaspoon of garam masala in addition to the curry. I also used a knife and cut little slits in the chicken to ensure more flavor would get into the chicken. Very good .. definitely a keeper! One thing I should mention is that I'm normally pressed for time in the evening, so I made this in the morning and let the chicken and sauce sit in the fridge until I was ready to put in the oven - this marinating probably helps with the taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This recipe has been a family favourite for as long as I can remember. As much as I hate people who completely change a recipe and then rate it, I'm going to do just that. I make this with chicken breasts cut up into bite size pieces. Drop the amount of butter down to about a tablespoon and increase the curry powder to a tablespoon. Then I add dried fruit (apricots, raisins and craisins are my favorite). Throw it in oven and bake it until the chicken is cooked. The mustard/curry/honey sauce gets all gooey and thick and is delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Excellent chicken!! I did cut the butter in half as recommended, instead of regualr salt, I used Lawry's, and instead of regular mustard, used dijon. Used a pack of drumsticks instead of a fryer chicken, since that is what I had on-hand. I dipped each drumstick in the sauce, and placed on a foil lined pan - I like easy clean-up. Covered the pan with more foil and baked for 30 minutes. Then uncovered and poured the remaining sauce over the drumsticks and put back (uncovered) in the oven for 45 minutes, basting every 15 minutes. Served over white rice and poured the yummy cooked up sauce over the rice too. Both my husband and I loved it!! He's already planning on trying it out on the grill. If you like honey-mustard, this is a sure winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States