Honey Baked Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Wow. Such simple ingredients and a great taste! Giving four stars because I did modify the recipe a bit as per others' comments. Did 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup honey and 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp garlic salt. I used Madras curry powder (I'm Indian myself) dijon mustard, and I didn't make a whole chicken, I used chicken tenders. Baking time was 30 min uncovered, 15 min covered. Then the chicken was still a bit watery, I transferred the chicken and the drippings into a pan and fried it until the water dried up and the chicken was a bit browned on both sides. Superb. I do feel like the recipe is missing a tang, perhaps the next time I make it I'll sprinkle some lemon juice on top. As far as the curry flavor, I felt like the honey and mustard gave most of the flavor and the curry was a smoky backdrop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe is absolutely amazing! I wanted to make a nice dinner for my parents on Mother's Day, and I had baked chicken on the mind (My parents' favorite). I decided to try this recipe, and I felt bad that I hadn't made more! It is one of the best things I have ever made and eaten! I'm normally very modest about my baking and cooking, but this is one of very few dishes that made me go, "Holy cow, that tastes amazing!" My parents loved it, and my friends tried the leftovers I took in my lunch and exclaimed it was really great. I used pre-cut pieces of chicken (Legs and thighs), but followed the rest of the directions precisely and it turned out perfectly. A must-try for all chicken-lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Fantastic! Made a few minor adjustments. Filled a measuring cup 3/4 full of honey and topped it off with good spicy dijon mustard as I never buy the cheap yellow stuff. Also added 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne. Other than that, followed the recipe and cooking instructions and the chicken turned out juicy and sticky and buttery and flavoful and DELICIOUS. I will definately make this again! Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe was surprisingly good. This is my first time cooking with curry since I have always been a little afraid I wouldn't like it, but it was very good! I used boneless chicken thighs and only about 1 tbsp of yellow mustard since I'm not a big fan of the stuff. Everything else I followed exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Sorry....didn't like this. I can't really define what didn't work, but we didn't like the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Doesn't look like much but this chicken was awesome. I made slight modifications by reducing butter, salt and curry (1/3 cup butter, scant on the salt and curry). Wife said it was the best baked chicken she has had! Winner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Love this recipe. Tangy, sweet, delicious over mashed potatoes. My whole family enjoys it - including an excessively picky 2 year old and a husband who doesn't like potatoes. Perfect on a winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Need to add some oomph - extra curry? cayenne? garlic? Made almost double sauce, using about this amount of butter, and served w/ rice pilaf made with orzo (Sarah's Rice Pilaf from this site). Made the Curried Cashew, Pear and Grape Salad - also from this site and absolutely fantastic. Terrific meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Made this for a friend and her family and for my own family... got RAVE reviews. I cut the butter in half and added some garlic salt and very light sprinkle of suger over the chicken once coated. I also marinated the meat for several hours before cooking. My very picky husband asked me to make it a part of our weekly meal plan! This is a big deal. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdithAnnith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very tasty recipe. Instead of a whole chicken, I just used whole bone-less/skinless chicken breasts. I think the recipe would have been better had I cut them into pieces instead of leaving whole. Very easy to make and very tasty. It would be good served over rice or some noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States