Honey Baked Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
OMG! Im sitting down to a sample of this chicken (before I serve it in 30 mins)and I can't believe how delicious it is. I have a knack for making everything taste the same - not this chicken though! I was sick of lemon chicken so this was an awesime and welcome break. I added more garlic, more honey, and a mix of red,black and white peppers, salt, nutmeg, and dry mustard. I also added a tablespoon of dijon to the egg mix. WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was excellent! I didn't change a thing, and the chicken smelled wonderful as it was baking, and turned a nice golden color! Got rave reviews from my boys!!(Hubby and son), everyone had seconds. I served it with oven brown potatoes and peas, great meal. Will make again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Loved it with a few changes! I doubled up the garlic, salt, pepper seasoning. A whole chicken is too much for us, so I marinated the rest in the fridge for the next day. For the basting sauce, I used 2 egg yolks, 4x honey and 1 stick butter. This was an absolute hit with the family. I've been asked to make it every week. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
A good easy recipe. I've made this recipe several times and my family enjoys it. I've settled on the following minor changes: 1.) Mix the egg with the salt, garlic powder and pepper in a bowl and dip the chicken into the mixture (rather than rubbing the seasoning on the chicken and then brushing on the egg). It's much quicker. 2.) I double the sauce (except for the butter) and pour whole thing over the chicken. Baste a couple of times while baking 3.) I don't use a whole chicken (just personal preference). I use 5 chicken breasts. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I liked this recipe alot..I even gave it away to two of my friends at work! My boyfriend nearly swallowed the chicken whole it was so good! I added just a little more honey. The thing I like about the recipe is that it is forgiving, you can add, take away or alter it to your liking and it will still be good. I am not an experienced cook, so I like something that I can work with when I try to make dinner.Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I tried this recipe and it was great except that I added my extras to it such as one and a half tablespoons of brown sugar, of course extra garlic and black pepper than the amount said above. It is simple and quick. The oven does the work. You only have to turn the chicken over and brush on sauce once. Just purchase a cut-up chicken from your local store so you don't have to do all that work. Very yummy indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.DAVIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paterson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I bet if this chicken wasn't so dry (my fault for not checking it at 45 minutes), it would've been 100% FABULOUS! I made some changes, due to reading all the reviews. I used 1.25 lb pkg chicken breasts. Didn't measure the spices, and added parsley, cayenne, nutmeg and Penzey's Pasta Sprinkle. I went ahead and used 2 yolks, 2.5 tbs lemon juice, cut the butter to 2 tbs, and upped the honey to just under 1/2 cup. Marinated all day. Baked, covered, at 350 for an hour. Then, I followed Azra's suggestion of letting the chicken sit for a few minutes, and drizzling it with more honey. Trying it before I did that, with all the honey I already used - yeah. FOLLOW THAT TIP! It totally makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Very tasty, and very simple. I'm just getting into cooking (fast food generation for the lose!), and this was perfect to cook and re-heat later. I substituted chicken breast for the whole chicken no problem, and added more garlic. Thrilled with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
Very good recipe. Burgers hold together better than many I've tried. I substituted packaged cornflake crumbs which also worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I made this dish tonight for the first time and it was great. My family loved it and I am considering adding this as one of my side meats for Thanksgiving dinner. Instead of using cut of pieces of chicken, I will marinate a roaster instead. I did make a few changes: I added extra 1/2 cup of honey, used minced garlic instead of garlic powder, 1 tsp of rosemary with the seasoning, and added 1 tsp of liquid smoke to give it a hickory taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States