Honey Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These tasted really nice. I could not find fresh or frozen cranberries since it is off-season for the berries so ended up using Craisins instead. Since Craisins are already sweet I reduced the sugar just a little. The amount of water seemed too much to me so next time I make I will reduce the water a little also. I think covering with some foil about half way through baking would be a good idea since I found the tops of my apples were getting overcooked and causing the flesh of the apple to boil out through cracks in th skin resulting in a very wrinkly looking end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great recipe. I also used the remaining juice with a pan fried pork chop. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lucasville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This was fantastic and it DID make my kitchen smell amazing! I made some changes: instead of brown sugar, I used more honey. Also, I didn't have fresh cranberries, so I used dried ones, soaked in hot water, and also some raisins treated the same way. I spiced it up with a hint of cinnamon and nutmeg. It was PERFECT and my neighbor who never speaks to me asked if he could have one of the apples (I live in a dorm so we share the kitchen) :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lódz, Lódz, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious! Did exactly the way the recipe said to do. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent! Even my picky 4 year old loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
They took so long to core without a corer and all the basting, what a waste of time. Seven adults and 3 kids and not one person cared much for them. The texture of the apples were spongey and the cranberries were to tart. No one ate more then 2 bites. No wonder you need 6 scoops of ice cream. Something is needed spruce these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Never made baked apples in my life, delicious! I didn't eat the ice cream with it, but it tasted very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was an excellent dessert. I used some of the suggestions other reviewers made such as using apple juice instead of water and adding some cinnamon. The apples I used were Granny Smith apples and I did add a scoop of vanilla ice cream to serve. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The cranberrys were tart, not sweet at all. The brown sugar, honey and water combo did not add much flavor or sweetness at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Simple and delicious. A couple tips - remove more than just the core, make something more like a 3/4" hole so you have more room for stuffing them with cranberries! Also, don't skip the step for removing the top third of the peel, I forgot it and my apples sort of exploded out of their skins. They looked funny but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States