Hominy and Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this as a wonderfull side dish, to grilled chicken. The only changes I made were instead of green chilis, I used 3-jalapeno peppers (fresh diced). Then before baking i added a layer of italian bread crumbs for texture. My family and I love it. (Hominy is a great substitute for heavy carbs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is delicious! I made it as a side dish for Easter, and it went wonderfully with the brisket and sausage we barbecued (we're a little non-traditional). We topped it with a crumb topping like the one in the South Coast Hominy recipe from this site and it made a big difference. Next time, we're going to add some meat of some kind to make it more of a main dish. Spice it up with a little cumin and some smoked paprika and chili powder and this is YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Well, this was the first time my husband or I had hominy. I was experimenting with new things :). I gave the recipe five stars because it does have great flavor and I liked the taste...I don't think, though, that my husband or I care for the texture of hominy itself much. But I didn't think that my review should reflect that as it isn't the fault of the recipe. Anyway, if you like hominy, this is a good recipe with great cheesy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHHOPPE
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Oh wow, was this ever good. If I recall correctly I reduced the cream cheese by half and added a 1/4 cup of plain yogurt...I also rinsed the hominy before adding it. This is easily one of the top five things I have ever made here on AR. Love the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
A delicious and different way to eat hominy. I love cream cheese but thought this had a little too much. Otherwise, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We really liked this. This was done about 30 mins before the rest of the meal, and we munched on it til dinner....we ended up eating about 1/3 of it before we even sat down! I used garlic powder and onion powder in this instead of the garlic and onion it called for, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I had high hopes for this but it was a bit disappointing. It was bland and took longer to cook than stated. Next time I will add green chiles and more salt/pepper. Will always try a recipe twice! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CassLeeAnne
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I was actually kind of surprised by the heat in this dish, because I thought for sure all the cheese would balance it out but it was still pretty spicy. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I would have to say, not too shabby! I added chili powder and everything else was as is. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this as a side dish for meatloaf, and it turned out great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States