Hominy and Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this as a wonderfull side dish, to grilled chicken. The only changes I made were instead of green chilis, I used 3-jalapeno peppers (fresh diced). Then before baking i added a layer of italian bread crumbs for texture. My family and I love it. (Hominy is a great substitute for heavy carbs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this as a side dish for meatloaf, and it turned out great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Great way to eat hominy. I might spice it up next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is delicious! I made it as a side dish for Easter, and it went wonderfully with the brisket and sausage we barbecued (we're a little non-traditional). We topped it with a crumb topping like the one in the South Coast Hominy recipe from this site and it made a big difference. Next time, we're going to add some meat of some kind to make it more of a main dish. Spice it up with a little cumin and some smoked paprika and chili powder and this is YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Well, this was the first time my husband or I had hominy. I was experimenting with new things :). I gave the recipe five stars because it does have great flavor and I liked the taste...I don't think, though, that my husband or I care for the texture of hominy itself much. But I didn't think that my review should reflect that as it isn't the fault of the recipe. Anyway, if you like hominy, this is a good recipe with great cheesy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I would have to say, not too shabby! I added chili powder and everything else was as is. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cass Deliciae
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I was actually kind of surprised by the heat in this dish, because I thought for sure all the cheese would balance it out but it was still pretty spicy. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Wonderful! We just loved this, creamy and delicious with just the right touch of heat. I only made a half batch and wish I had made it all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
A delicious and different way to eat hominy. I love cream cheese but thought this had a little too much. Otherwise, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My family really liked this dish. In fact we decided it will be one of the side dishes for one of our holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States