Hominy and Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this as a wonderfull side dish, to grilled chicken. The only changes I made were instead of green chilis, I used 3-jalapeno peppers (fresh diced). Then before baking i added a layer of italian bread crumbs for texture. My family and I love it. (Hominy is a great substitute for heavy carbs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this as a side dish for meatloaf, and it turned out great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Great way to eat hominy. I might spice it up next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wallace Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is delicious! I made it as a side dish for Easter, and it went wonderfully with the brisket and sausage we barbecued (we're a little non-traditional). We topped it with a crumb topping like the one in the South Coast Hominy recipe from this site and it made a big difference. Next time, we're going to add some meat of some kind to make it more of a main dish. Spice it up with a little cumin and some smoked paprika and chili powder and this is YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Well, this was the first time my husband or I had hominy. I was experimenting with new things :). I gave the recipe five stars because it does have great flavor and I liked the taste...I don't think, though, that my husband or I care for the texture of hominy itself much. But I didn't think that my review should reflect that as it isn't the fault of the recipe. Anyway, if you like hominy, this is a good recipe with great cheesy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I would have to say, not too shabby! I added chili powder and everything else was as is. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CassLeeAnne
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I was actually kind of surprised by the heat in this dish, because I thought for sure all the cheese would balance it out but it was still pretty spicy. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Wonderful! We just loved this, creamy and delicious with just the right touch of heat. I only made a half batch and wish I had made it all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
A delicious and different way to eat hominy. I love cream cheese but thought this had a little too much. Otherwise, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My family really liked this dish. In fact we decided it will be one of the side dishes for one of our holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States