Homey Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Nice comfort recipe. Needed to use up some chicken from a roasted chick and thought this sounded good. It was! No changes except for topping. Used Italian bread crumbs moistened with a little melted butter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Pretty simple, and good. I will definitely make this again. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup, and a bit more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was a big hit with family. I used 1/2 mushrooms but otherwise followed recipe. Will store in my family cookbook for further dates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was not a bad recipe, but not one I'll probably make again. I thought it was a little bland and needed something extra that I couldn't put my finger on. I also didn't love the sour cream, I would've rather doubled the cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Really delicious. Have been looking for a good chicken casserole recipe. I found this one and gave it a shot. I increased the amount of rice, chicken, cream of chicken soup and sour cream due to the amount of people in my family. Thought the dish might wind up being too liquidy or rich, but it wasn't. The liquids do cook out to help solidify the casserole. It also did not taste overly rich. The cheese and crushed croutons on top are a very nice touch. Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes chicken and rice. If you have a picky eater who you don't think will like the other ingredients, don't worry. The veggies and creams blend in with the taste very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great recipe! I always like to add something green to a casserole, slip in a veggie, so this time had green peas on the shelf. Delicious. Next time will try with broccali or asparagus. Everything else I followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
just plain homey excellent. cant rave enough about this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I used all full calorie versions of the soups - doubled the recipe and cooked my chicken in a little olive oil and then added the onions. I also only had Chicken with Herbs soup on hand so i used that - also Cream of Mushroom, as I doubled the recipe and put in a 9x13 pan. I used some extra seasonings that I keep on hand. My family liked it. Don't let the photo scare you - it tastes a lot better than that photo looks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I changed this recipe up a bit. I made homemade cream of celery soup, and by doing this I didn't need to add the milk or the 1/2 of chicken broth because the cream of celery had enough liquid. So I did Greek yogurt in place of sour cream and the homemade cream of celery mixed with the rice and chicken and I also added a bag of frozen broccoli and then I added all the seasonings that I prefer. I also added more cheese than instructed and baked at 375 instead of 350, as it got done better this way. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is a very good chicken casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States