Homey Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Made this a couple weeks ago when I was suffering from an upset stomach for several days and was looking for something that would have some protein but still be gentle on my stomach. This recipe definitely fits the bill! I used celery salt instead of seasoned salt and replaced the garlic croutons with buttermilk biscuits (from a tube), and it turned out tasty without causing further upset. It's definitely not as spicy as what I would normally make, but for sick-person food, it was a welcome respite from applesauce and pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ransom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Loved it! I think I will reduce the seasoned salt next time. The rice to liquid ratio was a bit off, so I adjusted it using my rice cooking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was much better than expected! I used a whole Costco rotisserie chicken, a large can of cream of chicken soup, about 6 cups of leftover rice and left out the mushrooms. Tasty and easy casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very yummy in my tummy! Kids loved it! I did not sub ingredients, but I did sub a process. I cooked my chicken in my casserole pan, used the drippings for the rice and did not clean out the pan. This way I didn't have to grease it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
A friend made this for us, and I asked for the recipe. It made an ordinary Chicken and Rice Casserole taste great! Will definitely make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Really tasty!! Left out the seasoning salt and the croutons on top. Used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken because that is what I had and was out of rice, so used quinoa instead! Will make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose20023

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Nice comfort recipe. Needed to use up some chicken from a roasted chick and thought this sounded good. It was! No changes except for topping. Used Italian bread crumbs moistened with a little melted butter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Pretty simple, and good. I will definitely make this again. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup, and a bit more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was a big hit with family. I used 1/2 mushrooms but otherwise followed recipe. Will store in my family cookbook for further dates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was not a bad recipe, but not one I'll probably make again. I thought it was a little bland and needed something extra that I couldn't put my finger on. I also didn't love the sour cream, I would've rather doubled the cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States