Homey Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I hate when people change the recipe but I'm going to be one of those people because I used what I had in my pantry and fridge. I used full fat everything, subbed swiss cheese and used fried onions ( the kind in the can) to top. Used the basic recipe to make. Very good! Had leftover chicken to use up and this was a great jumping off recipe. Thanks so much, hubby says thanks too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made this and the kids loved it. My son already declared that he wanted it for his birthday dinner. That's how good it was. I modified it a bit by using farro instead of rice and cream of mushroom soup. I have never had my kids go so crazy over anything I've made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The whole family loved this and I will make this my go to chicken and rice dish for now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was the best chicken and mushroom casserole i have made so far, but i made a few changes. I doubled the recipe, but did not double the amount of chicken (i don't like a lot of meat in casseroles personally), did not double the cheese or croutons either to save on calories. I used cream of mushroom soup because the fat free version is sold in the big cans, which are much cheaper than the small cans, but they did not sell the fat free cream of chicken soup in the big cans. I used a combination of low fat sharp cheddar, low fat smoked gouda and 2% milk Velveeta cheeses instead of cheddar cheese to save on calories. I think you could use pretty much any cheese you have on hand or skip the cheese altogether and it would still be great. I mixed a half cup of the cheese mixture into the casserole and sprinkled a half cup on top with about a quarter cup of seasoned croutons i smashed with a rolling pin in a Ziploc bag. I also replaced a little less than half a cup of chicken broth with white wine which added a wonderful flavour, and i halved the seasoned salt and added maybe half a teaspoon to a teaspoon of old bay seasoning. I also used brown rice because it's healthier and caramelized a couple cloves of garlic with the onion and mushrooms. It turned out amazingly! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
So good. I made a few changes based on what i had on hand, first i used one small can of mushrooms and added some minced garlic,(cooked in butter not olive oil.) also i left out the cheese and croutons simply because i did not have any and i forgot to put in the season salt. My super pickey daughter loved it (after i picked out the big chuncks of mushrooms.) My husband also liked it, we both felt however that in need a little spice. (due to the season salt) We just added a little hot sauce to our portion and it was perfect. I don't think it needed the cheese or the crutons. I will making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is so good. Use slightly less seasoned salt than recommended; otherwise change nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niecyma
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Thought it was a great casserole! I had to use more liquid in the rice, but it turned out nicely. I also substituted 'Top The Tator' for the sour cream. It added an extra little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great recipe! I always like to add something green to a casserole, slip in a veggie, so this time had green peas on the shelf. Delicious. Next time will try with broccali or asparagus. Everything else I followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I changed this recipe up a bit. I made homemade cream of celery soup, and by doing this I didn't need to add the milk or the 1/2 of chicken broth because the cream of celery had enough liquid. So I did Greek yogurt in place of sour cream and the homemade cream of celery mixed with the rice and chicken and I also added a bag of frozen broccoli and then I added all the seasonings that I prefer. I also added more cheese than instructed and baked at 375 instead of 350, as it got done better this way. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The question was - what can I make with the left over barbequed chicken? Tired of chicken pot pie so tried this. It was excellent and super easy to make. I did not have the fat free soup so used what I had. Will try the fat free next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States