Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I first reviewed this on Nov. 20 but after reprinting it since I lost mine went through the reviews again and decided to update since I seen some had some issues with it being dry and not browning. I used a 23 pound turkey and replaced the water with chicken broth. I used the same amount of butter for the pockets, rubbed it with olive oil and I took the foil off the last hour so it could brown. I also let the turkey rest covered with foil for 30 minutes before carving so the juices would flow back throughout the turkey. After transferring the carved pieces to the platter there was still juices left on the platter after the turkey was all gone. That's how juicy the turkey turned out to be. Nov. 20th review: This makes the best turkey, moist, tender, delish. I found this recipe last Thanksgiving and use it to cook turkey year round. I do add quite a bit more chicken stock (personal preference) and make gravy with the drippings. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was wonderful! I added some changes, but I believe the turkey would have still been great...brinded turkey (1 cup corse salt to 1 gal of water, 10-12 hrs) and injected it with 3T butter. This also makes great gravy, just add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is a really good way to make a wonderful turkey. We used this for Thanksgiving and let is rest almost thirty minutes before we sliced into it and it was so juicy and tasty that we will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I substituted chicken broth with a no-salt chicken version, and I used a salt free seasoning mix of 24 herbs and spices, instead of seasoning salt. I took another reader's advice and put my whole turkey breast in a slow oven 225 degrees and roasted covered for six hours, turning up the temperature to 250 about three hours before done. At an hour before I took it out of the oven, I uncovered and let it brown on top. This was delicious. It made a wonderful broth. I served it with a lo carb dressing I cooked on the range.Because of diabete I can't have other dressings. I also fixed a great salad. My husband and I really liked this, and I will definitely make again. The breast turned out moist. A suggestion: if using a breast cook breast down for a moist bird. This also works when cooking a full turkey. You have to turn right side up, of course, to get it brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is the only way I fix turkey, it is easy, decicious and extremely moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Awesome flavor and aroma. My husband thought the turkey was done after an hour cause it smelled so good. Made it today for Canadian Thanksgiving and followed the recipe with only one exception. The butcher had nearly removed the legs and removed a large portion of the skin he chopped such a large whole for stuffing (the joys of picking frozen products in opaque wrapping). Point is I was afraid the bird would fall apart if I slit the skin open so we just rubbed the butter on. And for anyone else with a overly butchered bird use dental floss to tie the legs together, if you want it tigher still tie the legs to the wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Loved this recipe. Family loved it too. Paired it with the easy gravy recipe from this sight and it doesn't get any easier to make Thanksgiving dinner anytime of the year. Thanks for sharing. 3/31/13: Update to my original review. Making this recipe for Easter this year. I have been making this recipe for years now, I always use chicken broth in the pan, and just sprinkle the bird with onion powder and seasoning salt. I put the pan drippings into a big measuring cup and take to top fat part to make my gravy. I then freeze the rest of the drippings for making gravy for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
First time making a turkey and it was very successful, putting the butter between the skin and breast meat made it so juicy! I will recommend this recipe to anyone wanting to make a delicious turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This recipe makes an excellent turkey you will be proud to put on your dinner table. But I just love turkey. Turned out very moist, very tender. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving last year. My first turkey, ever! I had my in-laws over and may I tell you that my FIL said it was the best turkey he's ever had! Everyone raved over it. Its putting the butter pats under the skin that does it, I think. This is your basic turkey. Nothing fancy or odd about it. Its sure to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States