Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I just used this recipe for my first Thanksgiving turkey and the flavor was great. We had a 20-lb bird (the recipe is for a 12-lb bird), but I kept the same quantities of butter and broth solution. I did add some celery, onion, and carrots to the pan and in the cavity. I roasted the turkey breast side down at 425 for the first hour and then turned it down to 325, covered the bird with foil, and occasionally basted it until my meat thermometer registered 180 for the breast--this baking method was the recommendation in "The America's Test Kitchen: Family Cookbook." The only "issue" we had was that the bird generated so much liquid that I actually had to extract some from the pan while it was cooking because it was literally swimming in juices. While this was not necessarily a bad thing--lots of great broth for soups, moist meat, and a golden bird--next time I will follow the cooking instructions in this recipe exactly. I am definitely looking forward to making this turkey again and may try it with a chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good, very easy for a first time turkey! It was recommended I use an oven bag for my first time, so I did, and cut the broth to one cup and put that into the bag with the bird. It was ready in 3 hours, and very, very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Everyone complimented how good it was. Meat was tender and juicy. I did increase ingredients a little because I was using a 18 pound turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is THE BEST! I have made more turkeys than I can count, but none have been better than this one. No need to brine, no need to roast upside down, no need to baste. I followed this recipe exactly and it was perfect and EASY! Obviously the large amount of liquid combined with the tightly foiled pan allows the bird to be extraordinarily moist and tender. I took the foil off for the last 45 minutes of cooking and the skin browned up beautifully. Thank you Robin, for making this and all future Thanksgivings easy and stress-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made it last year, but this year instead of wrapping the pan in foil I seasoned the turkey and wrapped it and placed it in the pan. It was even more tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very good and the stock made great gravy. I will reduce the stock by 1/2 next time, at least. Use the extra to baste with. If you put 4 cups of stock in the pan with the turkey, it destroys any stuffing you might have put inside. So glad I had extra dressing to cook seperately. I would also put the dry ingredients into the turkey roaster and then add the stock. Otherwise, a lot of it sticks to the inside of the measuing cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I used this recipe yesterday, and the "Perfect Turkey" recipe last weekend...this one is THE ONE to use! I did brine my turkey first, and I used an injector to inject the melted butter, and I stuffed with carrots, onion, celery, and an apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was my first time making a turkey, and it turned out awesome! :) It was tender and juicy - great bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
OH MY GOSH this made the most moist turkey breast I have EVER had. This was my first Thanksgiving to ever cook a turkey and it came out SO awesome! The only thing I did differently was to cook it breast down, and then flipped it breast up for those last 45 minutes to let it brown. The skin wasn't super crispy, but the moist and tender breast was so worth that! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I added clementine oranges, fresh thyme, and fresh rosemary to the cavity. I cooked a 12lb turkey about 4.5 hrs at 325-350...removed the foil during the last 30 minutes. I did baste every hour or so.....delicious! This was so moist! I will be making this bird every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoneStar Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Hickory Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States