Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I have always baked my holiday turkey in a bag for moisture. I was scared to even try something else, but this recipe was the best my whole family has ever even tried. The only thing I did a little differently was I brined the turkey for 2 days. I most flavorful and tender turkey, white and dark meat! Recomend this to all cooks, novice and expert. Fast and simple and delish!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jigger Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cascade, Montana, USA
Living In: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I do not cook very good or very often, but this turkey was a hit at Thanksgiving. I will be sure to use this recipe again. Thanks for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I was extremely nervous about making a turkey for family for the first time. This turned out extremely well and far better than turkeys made by others in the family in past years ;) Didn't have much left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I made this Turkey for Thanksgiving this year. It was the first Turkey I have ever made. Well, it smelled real good, looked real good. But my family did not like it at all. They say it was tough & dry. Maybe it was the brand of Turkey I bought?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBit72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Awesome recipe for a wonderful, but super easy turkey. This was the easiest to turkey to carve the meat literally fell off the bones. I used my meat themometer and my turkey was done earlier than I expected. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was the most moist white meat turkey I've ever had! And this was my first turkey! I didn't have dried minced onions so I used onion powder, and I didn't have enough dried parsley so I used rosemary instead. Incredible and so so so moist! My white meat was practically falling apart! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
A keeper for sure. The only thing I will do differently next time is to reduce the recipe in 1/2. I prefer my turkey not to sit immersed in that amount of liquid while it is cooking. I definitely thought the turkey was more moist & tasty done this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle McCrillis
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe! Everyone loved it! I had a 20lb turkey and so adjusted the recipe appropriately - I also cooked the turkey at 400 degrees for an hour and then at 350 for another 3 hours. I used a stick and a half of butter and like another reviewer, really made sure the bird was buttered! It turned out soo golden brown (I've posted a pic) - and was so moist. I did add bacon strips on top of the turkey by demand of the family...this will be my turkey recipe from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle McCrillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Simple and tasty. Mine didn't turn out as moist as others raved, but still yummy and so much easier than other recipes I've tried in recent years. Next year I'll try this recipe again, but cook it in a roasting bag instead of in a roaster tented with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was the best turkey, moist and perfect and it was just the cheap frozen one. The difference is the broth, the turkey sits in a steam bath! It was a 20 pound bird, stuffed and only 4 T of butter under skin. I also basted it every 90 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSU BEAVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States