Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
OK, I know everyone's written about this recipe, but I just have to say that we NEVER eat turkey. I made this for Christmas last year (I was in a "traditional" mode) It literally fell off the bone. It was incredible. We devoured it. NOTHING LEFT. Since then, we've made it several times. Each time - amazing results. I have referred many people to this recipe. It's worth it's weight in gold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I first reviewed this on Nov. 20 but after reprinting it since I lost mine went through the reviews again and decided to update since I seen some had some issues with it being dry and not browning. I used a 23 pound turkey and replaced the water with chicken broth. I used the same amount of butter for the pockets, rubbed it with olive oil and I took the foil off the last hour so it could brown. I also let the turkey rest covered with foil for 30 minutes before carving so the juices would flow back throughout the turkey. After transferring the carved pieces to the platter there was still juices left on the platter after the turkey was all gone. That's how juicy the turkey turned out to be. Nov. 20th review: This makes the best turkey, moist, tender, delish. I found this recipe last Thanksgiving and use it to cook turkey year round. I do add quite a bit more chicken stock (personal preference) and make gravy with the drippings. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wow, easy and great! And moist! Last year I made "Perfect Turkey" from this site, which required both brining and turning over during cooking. Don't bother with either! Make this much-easier and just-as-good turkey instead! The only changes I made were to put the turkey on a bed of onion, celery & carrot chunks, and to stuff a few pieces of the above plus a chopped apple into the cavity. None of these veggies are eaten, but they give the turkey and juices a great flavor. Don't use the cooking times in the recipe as my 20-lb bird took only 4 hours. (Also note that in ingredient list, "broth" is supposed to read "bouillon.")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! I was raised a half mile from Cornwell's turkey farm outside of Marshall Michigan. I can tell you that this is the closest you will get to their "secret recipe" from their restaurant. The only difference is they soak their fresh turkey in a salt brine (2 cups salt, cover turkey with water - soak over night) before they cook them. Use home made or commercial turkey or chicken broth instead of the bullion and water, fresh chopped onion and fresh parsley in pace of the dried also. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was a fantastic turkey....I did change a few ingredients. Instead of warm water I used half chicken broth and half apple cider. I also reduced the butter I put under the skin. This was a great juicy tasty turkey. And the gravy I made with the drippings was one of the best I ever made. Oh my bird was 13 pounds and it was done in just over 3 hours. Five stars with my changes....thanksRobin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Wow! Thanks for posting Robin! I'm so glad that I decided to try this procedure for roasting turkey! I used 1 Tbls. Better than Bouillon Turkey Base in lieu of the chicken 'broth' (assumed that Robin meant bouillon/base since it was only 3 Tbls.) and only used 2 cups water, but ended up with almost 1 quart of fabulously flavored stock when the liquid was poured off, strained and defatted! Easiest, tastiest gravy base ever! I also cut back on the butter, using only 4 Tbls. I used my oval roaster and simply put the lid on it instead of covering it with foil... the 14 lb. bird I made was done to perfection in 3 hours! Since my turkey was done quicker than I had figured, I didn't get that '45 minute window' to remove the foil to let the turkey brown. I ended up turning on the broiler and returning the bird to the oven, after pouring off the liquid, to add color to the skin.. @8 minutes worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I love, love, love my turkey this way. I don't do the buillion, but use 4 cups of chicken broth instead. The last time I made this, I accidently did 3 tblsp of the onion, parsley, and season salt, but it still turned out great. I usually line my roaster with foil, put all the ingredients on the turkey, wrap it tight, and slow roast on 250 for about 7 to 8 hours (don't even touch it). Yummy stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
My neighbor gave us a turkey, so I tried this recipe. Very Good, but the gravy that I made from the drippings was really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I've been making this recipe since I first had to make thanksgiving dinner on my own when I lived in Germany almost 10 years ago. I went with this one becaue of the reviews and becaue I lived in MI when in America. It's simle and great...I even managed to impress my parents who are both incredible cooks an honestly should have there own show or something or that sort. The bird comes out moist every time. A must try for first timers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Quick and easy! I have made this several times, always with success. This year I tucked some butter under the skin, and also brushed the skin with a little vegetable oil, that helped crisp up the skin nice. I had a 24 pound bird this time so I just doubled everything. This is the only recipe I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States