Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
the only turkey recipe i use! so delicious and moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES TO EAT!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I've been cooking turkey for over 30 years and this was the best recipe ever! Canadian Thanksgiving and with some family home we all enjoyed it so much. It turns out so moist, it melts in your mouth. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I made this turkey last year for Thanksgiving and everyone RAVED about it. Everyone said it was the most moist and flavorful turkey they had ever had !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was so easy to follow, and turned out awesome! I used a butter ball turkey and put it in the oven for about 4 hours on 350 degrees F. I used more butter than the recipe asked for and I used chicken broth instead of water. The turkey I had was 8 kg. Thanks so much for a great recipe, the turkey was gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I am trying to omit butter, but saw this recipe and had two turkey thighs in the refrigerator. I knew they could be dry if not cooked properly, so put them in a casserole dish, poured homemade chicken broth over them, sprinkled liberally with fake butter powder, the minced dried onion, some Emeril's seasoning and a handful of fresh parsley. Baked for 1 hour 1/2 and it was absolutely devine. Very moist and flavorful. I may be dieting, but I don't feel deprived. Will use this again, even for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I never cook, but we had a turkey in the freezer and well... I had my entire family over just because. I added the carrots, celery and apple into the cavity and as a base from the other suggestions. Everything else I followed. Unfortunetly, 5 hours was not enough time. I cooked it at 350 for 5 hours, then turned up the heat to 425 for 2 more hours.My bird was 20lbs. I was worried it would dry out with the higher temp, but I had 18 people to feed. It was perfect!! I have now been designated the new turkey maker!! (and everyone always picks on me for my lack of culinary skill) Make sure you have enough time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Mmmmm... I'm from Michigan, and this is a great recipe for Turkey. So easy! It was my first time making a whole turkey, and it turned out delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I cooked my first turkey ever using this recipe and it turned out wonderfully. It was really moist and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I combined the butter and dried seasonings together and stuffed into the pockets. Put it in a roasting pan and placed that in the bbq pit, it only took 3 hrs for a 16 lb turkey to cook. It came out juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Amazing!!! My first turkey and it rocked!! I used rosemary instead of the parsley, chicken broth instead of water, and used a 7 pound turkey (with adjusted ingredients). The best turkey I EVER had!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States