Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
very moist, did a brine first. Some didn't like it moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
awesome recipe, used it on our brined turkey (recipe "turkey brine" on this site, highly recommend) and it took it to a whole other level. so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa demayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
5 STARS..I MAKE THIS RECIPE EVERY HOLIDAY.. MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coriandorlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I tried this recipe this year and the entire family loved. So moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made this as my first turkey, and it turned out great! Everyone wants to come to my house from now on because the turkey was so good. I didn't change a thing from the original, and it was so juicy it just fell right off the bone when we tried to pick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuiper55

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I've made this recipe 3 years in a row now and I have to say it is EASY and DELICIOUS!! Like other reviewers mentioned, the baking time does not require 4-5 hours. I used a 15 pound turkey and still only baked it for a little more than 3 hours. My process was slightly different though - I put my turkey in a turkey bag then poured the chicken broth and seasonings over the turkey. Because my turkey is bigger than the one this recipe calls for, I added an extra cup of chicken broth, and an extra tablespoon of all the seasonings. Then I covered the bag with foil and baked it. When my turkey baked for 2.5 hours, I took it out of the oven, took off the foil and cut open the bag, then baked the remaining turkey for another 45 minutes to brown the outside skin. The end result was a perfectly moist, well seasoned, and flavorful bird. I will use this simple recipe for all future holiday meals!! No brining or basting required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Yes, it's a 5!! Used Turkey stock instead of water and turkey took the entire amount of time, so not a quick one. Meat was juicy and tender, we ate turkey for 5 days, first time we've ever finished the entire bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is the second time I made a Turkey for Thanksgiving and first time with this recipe. This was fantastic. I had a 13 lb bird, which took almost 4 hours. I didn't even get the lid off before it was done, but it still browned. I used Tony Sachere's (cajun seasoning) in place of the regular season salt. Everything else I did exactly as it said. So much juice in the bottom of the roaster with which to make gravy. I got a lot of compliments. Would have been even more juicy if it didn't overcook a little and have to sit there for an hour before we were ready for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've used this word to describe so many other thanksgiving recipes I used from this site but it definitely applies here. "AWESOME". Thank you Robin C, I never made Turkey before, but this one was SO juicy it squished out juice like some kind of fruit, and was very tender and well cooked. I stuffed mine with a medley of veggies, carrots, celery, fresh thyme, fresh basil, fresh sage and fresh rosemary and onion and a cut up lemon. I let the Turkey temp get to 180 f and the inside 165 f before I took it out. The skin was especially delicious and golden brown. I added a bit of paprika and garlic salt because I was panicking as I didn't have seasoning salt and this combination made sense for some odd reason. anyway, it didn't hurt. The gravy I made from the dripping was great. Oh, and I maybe basted it once or twice with only a tablespoon of the broth from the pan. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The turkey was delicious, but be warned that if you try to use the drippings for gravy it will be super salty because of all the seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yekaterina81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States