Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I have made this recipe several times. It is very moist and has a delicious flavor. I also use the broth after cooking for gravy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARALEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was my first attempt at turkey and turned out great! I used a vegetable bullion instead of chicken and fresh chopped onion. My father even commented that it was better than my grandmother's turkey. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I can remember Thanksgiving in the UP as a child. I found this recipe one year and decided to try it. Brought back some great memories. I probably will not eat turkey any other way now. A must try recipe!! I brine mine for 24 hrs. prior to roasting and all I add to this great recipe is one bottle of stout beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I love, love, love my turkey this way. I don't do the buillion, but use 4 cups of chicken broth instead. The last time I made this, I accidently did 3 tblsp of the onion, parsley, and season salt, but it still turned out great. I usually line my roaster with foil, put all the ingredients on the turkey, wrap it tight, and slow roast on 250 for about 7 to 8 hours (don't even touch it). Yummy stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Easy and nicely done, enjoyed this very much and you can certainly stuff it if you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I am so relieved. My first turkey was a success. :) I followed this recipe exactly, except I used freshly chopped parsley and onion in place of dried. The turkey wasn't pretty when it was done -- it was so moist, it fell apart in the oven. Maybe it would have stayed in one piece if I hadn't cooked it quite as long. I did a full five hours for my fairly small bird. Just wanted to be sure that it was finished, since I don't have a meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTA80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was an easy recipe. I really liked the butter under the skin. You could really taste it in those pieces of breast meat. While it was cooking I thought it smelled really parsley-y. However, that eventually tamed down. The gravy actually turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was the first time I prepared turkey. It came out fantastic. My brother who never cooks was so enthusiastic that he wanted to try the recipe himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aarhus, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I've used this recipe the last two years and always hear how juicy and delicious the turkey is. I cooked a 22-pounder and a 13-pounder this season, both with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've used this recipe on numerous occasions. I always get compliments on how juicy the meat is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States