Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Fantastic! I have used this recipe for the last 6 years. Even on a butterball or just 2 turkey legs. Turkey is always moist. But stop basting a little earlier and drizzle with a little olive oil if you want some crisper skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe and produces a very juicy bird. Also works well to substitute two chickens for the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Good basic recipe. I like to mix in some herbs with the butter before spreading it under the skin. I also spread some inside the cavity. I always place an onion inside for a boost of flavor; it also helps made the bird juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaniemg2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was so yummy!!Even my son loved it which is a good sign!!!He thinks he is a better cook than me and being 17yrs old mr know it all etc.So because of that he didnt say one thing bad about the turkey...Whoo hoo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I was looking for a different way to make our turkey this Thanksgiving and this was a very tasty recipe. I am on a very low sodium diet, I used 2 cups water with 1 Gobio sodium free bouillon cube and I skipped the seasoning salt. I also only used 2 tbsps unsalted butter melted and added poultry seasoning and my salt free Cajun seasoning with the other spices, after I rubbed it under the skin, I rubbed the whole turkey on the outside as well. 3 hours and 10 minutes was perfect in my oven, great tasting gravy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Best turkey recipes I've tried. Used this recipe for the last 3 Thanksgivings and it will be part of my family tradition. Very easy to prep and turkey comes out juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
HANDS DOWN BEST TURKEY EVER!!!! I did my very first turkey last year using this recipe, and my uncle (who was very skeptical about me making the turkey) said it was the best turkey he's ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Tried this today (Memorial Day). It was a very basic easy to follow recipe... so I put my husband in charge of making the turkey...It turned out as I expected. We were pleased with the flavor of the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennlynn
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Yay! My first time making a turkey! It turned out good and all our guests really enjoyed it. I think it needed just a bit more seasoning & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksoto2
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I have never made a turkey in my life!! This was amazing!!! My mom always cooks for all the holidays so I feel no pressure to impress. However, as mom gets older, eventually the cooking will be my responsibility. So, I wanted to see if I could do this. I used this recipe and made a small test turkey. I loved it. I ate turkey all week and never got bored. The gravy was incredible and perfect for dunking your turkey sandwiches. My son, who does not eat turkey, had several servings. The gravy is better than my moms, but don't tell her I said that. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States