Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe always turns out! I use only 1 tablespoon of season salt. The meat is moist and full of flavor. The drippings cooked with milk/wondra flour make a fantastic turkey gravy! Thanks for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have used this recipe the last two Thanksgivings and will us it again this year. I usually have a 20 pound bird and adjust the recipe as follows: a whole stick of butter, 3 T seasoning salt, 3 T finely chopped fresh poultry herb blend (thyme, rosemary, and sage) instead of dried parsley, 2 T granulated onion, and 1 T granulated garlic. Instead of water and bouillon, I use a carton of Kitchen Basics salt free stock. I use salt free because the first time I made this my gravy was too salty. It was perfect the second time I made it with the salt-free stock. Also, I use a roasting pan with a rack. I put the giblets, a coarsely chopped onion, several smashed cloves of garlic, and coarsely chopped carrots and celery, whatever is left of the fresh herb packet, and a bay leaf underneath the rack to roast with the turkey. I baste the turkey regularly and add more stock as needed. While the turkey rests, I make a roux from about 3 T of butter and 3 T of flour. I then drain the pan drippings through a colander lined with cheesecloth and discard the giblets, etc. I use a fat separator to remove as much fat as possible and add what is left the roux to make my gravy. I add more stock as needed and season to taste. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I have made this recipe for the past two Thanksgivings. I have not altered a thing on the recipe and it comes out wonderfully every time. Perfect, easy, and consistently amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this turkey today. There was way too much liquid even though the turkey was tender I will not use this recipe again. You'd be better off just cooking it in a turkey sized cooking bag, following the instructions on the box. My bird was not quite a 12 lb turkey and it was overdone within 4 hours. If I try it again I will put maybe a 1/4 to 1/2 inch of chicken broth in the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I've made turkey this way for years (thanks to Allrecipies! =) ) I've had all kinds of compliments, so I will continue to use this recipe.-Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was fantastic! My turkey was so tender it fell off the bone, moist and delish. I will be using this recipe again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I use this recipe every time I make turkey, it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Simple and delicious. The butter made the breast meat very tender. The gravy I made from the pan drippings was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
It worked! I now can say I successfully cooked a bird. Everyone loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna Blaskievich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheena7
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was the 2nd turkey I have ever made for Thanksgiving. It was the most suculent amazing turkey I have ever made or tasted in my life. The left overs were amazing (and I hate left over turkey). It was so juicy that after heating it back up in the microwave ALL you had to do was barely touch the meat and the juice flowed out of it. Needless to say my family was very very VERY PLEASED. WILL BE MY GO TO RECIPE EVERY YEAR. THANK YOU. I will add that I seasoned my butter with herbs before rubbing all over in and out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States