Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made a turkey for the first time ever and this is the recipe I went with. AMAZING! I don't even usually eat the skin, but this was so good that I had to. The turkey turned out moist and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abbeykate12
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was so easy and so delicious! This was my first thanksgiving cooking for just two of us and this is a perfect turkey recipe for a beginner. Did I mention it's absolutely DELICIOUS?! He raved all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is my favorite turkey recipe! I use it every year. Leave the turkey so favorful and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
We used a 17.5 pound turkey but followed the directions exactly. It was ready in 4 hours. We let it sit a half hour and it was delicious. It was a beautiful golden brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidre Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It's a very basic and easy to follow recipe. The only thing I did different was I used a baking bag in lieu of a Dutch oven (I don't own one unfortunately).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've been using this recipe for several years. It's excellent as is but I do add some olive oil to the butter I slather the bird with. Makes for a pretty brown bird with crispy skin and juicy,flavorfulmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I know I have rated this before but this is the best way to cook a turkey. Everyone raves how moist it is. This is the only way I will make a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe always turns out! I use only 1 tablespoon of season salt. The meat is moist and full of flavor. The drippings cooked with milk/wondra flour make a fantastic turkey gravy! Thanks for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have used this recipe the last two Thanksgivings and will us it again this year. I usually have a 20 pound bird and adjust the recipe as follows: a whole stick of butter, 3 T seasoning salt, 3 T finely chopped fresh poultry herb blend (thyme, rosemary, and sage) instead of dried parsley, 2 T granulated onion, and 1 T granulated garlic. Instead of water and bouillon, I use a carton of Kitchen Basics salt free stock. I use salt free because the first time I made this my gravy was too salty. It was perfect the second time I made it with the salt-free stock. Also, I use a roasting pan with a rack. I put the giblets, a coarsely chopped onion, several smashed cloves of garlic, and coarsely chopped carrots and celery, whatever is left of the fresh herb packet, and a bay leaf underneath the rack to roast with the turkey. I baste the turkey regularly and add more stock as needed. While the turkey rests, I make a roux from about 3 T of butter and 3 T of flour. I then drain the pan drippings through a colander lined with cheesecloth and discard the giblets, etc. I use a fat separator to remove as much fat as possible and add what is left the roux to make my gravy. I add more stock as needed and season to taste. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States