Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great recipe for beginners! Made it last year for Christmas and thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Trying it on Thursday... I don't cook holiday dinners very often, can anyone tell me since there are liquids in this recipe if I should place the bird on the rack in the roasting pan or do I want the bird to sit in the juices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
It is devine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Turned out great. It was the first turkey I ever cooked and even my mom was impressed about how good it turned out. If you use the turkey stock to make gravey you might not want to add any more salt. The gravey I make asked for another tablespoon and came out to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is good. I add a little rosemary in the butter to put under the Skin. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was a good confidence booster in my ability to cook a turkey, but it was ultimately not what I was hoping it would be. It took a lot longer than I expected for the bird to reach 180. By then, the breast meat was less moist than I had thought it would be, based on the reviews. Tenderness/moistness was OK, just not what it seemed like others got. The flavor was fine but a little on the bland side for me. I was surprised how much of the broth evaporated from the bottom of the pan... there was some scrounging about to make gravy. I appreciate the simplicity of this recipe and the fact that I always have all ingredients on hand, but this wasn't the best match for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Sometimes simple is best and this is a perfect example! My family loves this recipe and it is a must every Thanksgiving. Moist, tasty, and very easy! For a nice taste contrast, serve with the Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Just wanted to add my review. I made this turkey last year and it was fabulous! After it came out of the oven, we couldn't resist sampling the turkey because it looked and smelled wonderful. However, after dipping our bites of turkey into the AMAZING pan drippings, we found it almost impossible to stop! lol I will definitely be making this turkey again (with no tweaking) and will not bother to recipe-shop any longer. Happy Cooking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We used to oven bake turkeys then started deep fat frying in peanut oil. YUMMMMmmmmm. We will never go back. Now the oven is freed up to make pies and other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe I've used it 3 years in a row my family loves it super tender ! My turkey came out great for first time ever making a turkey !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States