Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
PERFECT!!!!! This was the best Turkey I've ever had! I am so impressed and so is my family. I will be using this recipe EVERY year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I am fifteen and I live in Mexico. I begged my mom this year if she would please let me fix a thanksgiving dinner. She let me, and i spent a week searching for just the right recipes. I came upon this recipe, and imediatley liked it for it's simplicity ( and it had ingredients i could actually get or find here), besides it had rave reviews. It seemed like it made the most delicious turkey on earth, and the juiciest according to the reviews. I have to say I am VERY disappointed!!!! with the actual results. I did everything, following sugestions given in the reviews, and i even brined it overnight. I was so hopeing for it to come out juicy. I basted it, and did not overcook it. When i took it out of the oven it looked soooo juicy and flavorful. And there were plenty of pan dripings. Sorry to say it waas tasteless and so dry!!!! i don't what i did wrong!!!! :'( i was/am soooooo disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used this recipe to make my first turkey, and it was very simple and delicious! I used chicken broth instead of chicken bouillon/water, but did everything else the same. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Turkey was very moist and flavorful. Rave reviews. I browned the neck etc and then simmered them in chicken broth, and used that as the majority of the stock for my gravy, adding a couple cups from the turkey as well. This was the most praise I have ever received on a turkey, I will always do it this way going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was the first turkey I've ever cooked and the recipe was incredibly simple and fool proof. I might have liked it to have a bit more flavor or seasoning and may either brine it first next year or season it a little more heavily. Everyone said it was the moistest turkey they've ever had. We couldn't even put the whole turkey on the platter prior to carving it because it was literally falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Loved it! I have been using the recipe for Rosemary Roasted Turkey for years. This year wanted to try something new. This was fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly and it made a juicey flavorful turkey. May try this with chicken as well. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is the best recipe for turkey. I added 1 tbl of ltaian seasoning, and I put 1/2 of the dry ingredients between the skin and breast with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Really good, my family likes turkey again! changes: stuffed the cavity with thyme, rosemary, garlic & onion. Roasted without foil, placed a piece of foil on top of the breast when it was browned. Let rest prior to carving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Used this recipe for Thanksgiving yesterday and it came out great. I also squirted some of the mixture under the skin after putting in the butter. My family loved this and I'm saving this recipe in my Recipe Box. Thanks a lot, great recipe for a delicious and moist turkey. (Also proud to be a Michigander!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used this recipe for My first Thanksgiving Turkey. I left the turkey in too long but because I used this recipe The Turkey didn't come out nearly as dry as it should have. I would easily use this recipe again next year. I would just leave it in for the proper time as stated in the recipe. If I would have followed the correct time the Turkey would have been absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor-Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States