Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Hands down the best turkey I have made. Or, should I say the only turkey I will make. Being first generation Chinese-American, Thanksgiving was never a thing for us, much less learning how to make a Turkey. My mom made a turkey eon ago; we were stuck with dry turkey meat for weeks. It wasn't until a couple of years ago I attempt to make a turkey myself. Thanks to this recipe, a new Thanksgiving tradition is born. This turkey is so juicy and delicious, just like how real turkey should taste. I can't believe we have missed out on turkey all these years. We have to increase the size of our turkey every year just so that we would have enough leftovers. Our family from oversea insisted they would never liked turkey was immediately converted once they tasted it, commenting how they never had a turkey this moist. I pretty much stay true to the recipe, except tying the bird down so that it would cook more evenly and putting extra foil on the legs (a trick from food network). I also baste the turkey here and there during baking when I remember to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosebud92107
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I've tried several turkey recipes and this is one of those recipes. This is really good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud92107

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was easy and produced a perfect turkey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Fantastic! I have used this recipe for the last 6 years. Even on a butterball or just 2 turkey legs. Turkey is always moist. But stop basting a little earlier and drizzle with a little olive oil if you want some crisper skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe and produces a very juicy bird. Also works well to substitute two chickens for the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Good basic recipe. I like to mix in some herbs with the butter before spreading it under the skin. I also spread some inside the cavity. I always place an onion inside for a boost of flavor; it also helps made the bird juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaniemg2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was so yummy!!Even my son loved it which is a good sign!!!He thinks he is a better cook than me and being 17yrs old mr know it all etc.So because of that he didnt say one thing bad about the turkey...Whoo hoo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I was looking for a different way to make our turkey this Thanksgiving and this was a very tasty recipe. I am on a very low sodium diet, I used 2 cups water with 1 Gobio sodium free bouillon cube and I skipped the seasoning salt. I also only used 2 tbsps unsalted butter melted and added poultry seasoning and my salt free Cajun seasoning with the other spices, after I rubbed it under the skin, I rubbed the whole turkey on the outside as well. 3 hours and 10 minutes was perfect in my oven, great tasting gravy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Best turkey recipes I've tried. Used this recipe for the last 3 Thanksgivings and it will be part of my family tradition. Very easy to prep and turkey comes out juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
HANDS DOWN BEST TURKEY EVER!!!! I did my very first turkey last year using this recipe, and my uncle (who was very skeptical about me making the turkey) said it was the best turkey he's ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States