Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This past Thanksgiving I cooked the Thanksgiving dinner for the first time. I used this turkey recipe, and I thought it was great! Everybody really enjoyed the turkey. It was very juicy, which isn't the norm with turkeys I've had in the past. I would make this recipe again. It was very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very yummy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
WOW!!!!!! so JUICY!!!!.... so much FLAVOR!!!!.... this is one of the best recipes for a turkey I have ever had!!!! From this point on it will be a family tradition and WILL be passed down from generation to generation. THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH Robin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORIETTA M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made my first Thanksgiving turkey and used this recipe. I must say it was a HUGE hit! Everyone still raves about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Best turkey I ever had but I changed a few things. For starters I brined the turkey overnight in salt, pepper, brown sugar, rosemary and thyme. I didn't used the parsley. for the butter I softened a whole stick and mixed in salt, pepper, fresh chopped garlic, dry minced onions and oregano. I rubbed it on and under the skin. Instead of the water and bouillon I used 2 cans of chicken broth and mixed in a tbls of better than bouillon turkey base. I sprinkled the seasoning salt over but found I wasn't fond of that. Next time I'll leave it out. I cooked it in an oven bag using a remote digital thermometer. When the temp reached 145 I cut open the top of the bag cooking it at 400 till it reached 180 to get it nice and brown. The turkey came out beautifly with about 5-6 cups of juices of which I only used 3 cups to make gravy and have been using the juices in other dishes such as rice, potatoes, pastas, etc. It made a fabulous gravy. I know it's not the same recipe but it came out so great I had to share what I did. I'll never make turkey any other way again except leave out the minced onion. I don't think it added anything. I'm making a 5# chicken tonight this way to see how it turns out. It's brining in the fridge right now calling out to me, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I've tried many different ways to fix turkey over the years, but found this to be the best. It's simple, quick, and comes out very moist and flavorful every time. You can't go wrong. I don't vary the recipe at all, but have left out seasoning when I didn't have it and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Delicious and moist! My husband made it for Thanksgiving and it was perfect . . . also, it was the first turkey either of us had ever made, so very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is the recipe we make every year for Thanksgiving. With a probe thermometer and this recipe, you can never go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
amazing. first attempt ever at a thanksgiving turkey...beautiful results. lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe that i have use many times. With this being a simple recipe anyone can do it PLUS you can add too it if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States