Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My 1st ever turkey....and it turned out great. Since it is my 1st bird, I do wonder what difference the broth stock makes...besides leaving me with no actual drippings to work with for gravy.... I'll keep this in my back pocket whilst looking around for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I can make a killer prime rib, an amazing ham, but for some reason hadn't quite learned how to master a perfect turkey. I had tried a ton of recipes including the "fool proof" Alton Brown recipe (where you brine it in a cooler the day before - talk about a pain in the rear!) I had almost given up when my Dad was given a Turkey for Christmas so we decided to give it one last shot with this recipe, and I am glad we did! FINALLY a turkey turned out moist and delicious! I hate basting a turkey, and this was a god-send recipe in that regard. I actually had time to enjoy with my family in the living room instead of slaving over the oven every 15 minutes. The only change I might make is to customize the flavoring to our liking a bit better. I'd cut back on the dried onion flavor, and change to more of a rosemary/lemon blend next time. I'm excited for the ability to add this to my "big guns" recipe arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Unbelievable! Never have had a turkey come ou so moist. Even used a 24 lb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VH
Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made my first turkey this Thanksgiving with this recipe and everyone loved it! My mom and dad said this was the best turkey they've ever had and that from now on, I have to make this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used this recipe on a wild turkey that we thought was going to be pretty tough, but it turned out incredibly tender and delicious! We did cut it up though to fit in our cast iron dutch oven, so that may have helped, but I loved this recipe and all I added was chopped garlic to it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
First Turkey ever, came out perfect! I had a 22lb bird, so I doubled the recipe, and buttered that sucker GOOD. I followed the "most helpful" review that said for a turkey that size to do 375 for the first for, then reduce to 350 for 4 more hours. I put our unstuffed turkey in at 8:30am covered, basted every hour, and uncoverd for the last hour, basting every 20 min. Came out at 1:45pm PERFECT Thank you for this recipe, it's the only one I'll use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My husband and I love this turkey recipe. We're both from Michigan and we're currently living in North Carolina on a Marine base. I NEVER cooked a turkey in my life, so I was quite nervous. I cooked this turkey for 9 Marines and ourselves and we absolutely loved it! We loved it so much that I cooked it again for my father in-law and us for Christmas, then for Thanksgiving this year. I have a feeling I'm going to be using this recipe for quite a while! The only trouble I have is making sure the gravy is the right consistency due to the oils. But I think that's just due to my lack of experience in the gravy-making field, haha. Once again, we LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was the first turkey I've ever made and it turned out perfect. This turkey was pretty easy to make and I love that there was no basting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. So good!!!! The butter inside the skin is key, really adds moist flavor. I realized last minute I didn't have chicken bullion and had to sub a raman noodles chicken flavor packet (grrrrr!!!) but it was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brandstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Grove, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have been experimenting with turkey recipes for the last 16 years, and this was the best. I used my own seasonings; however, the idea of putting the chicken broth at the bottom of the pan and covering it with tin foil and removing the tin foil for the last 45min. was what made this turkey DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States