Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
10 years ago when I was spending my first holiday season away from family, I discovered this recipe and decided to try it for Thanksgiving. It was SO MUCH BETTER than my family's traditional turkey recipe that we've never gone back. Since then we've had a number of holiday guests who have made it their own as well. I do use more butter and seasoning than the recipe calls for, but it's an excellent basic turkey recipe that you can adapt based on your taste & turkey size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Foster Baer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watseka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is the recipe we will use from now on - it is wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Was deeeeeeeelicious! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Wonderful Turkey!!! So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Wow! I am amazed at how good this is. I accidentally put the salt in the liquid first, but put another 2 T. on top. It is just right! I've made lots of turkeys; some have been good and some have been dry. This has to be the best turkey I've ever made. I even used a store brand turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was my 1st time cooking a turkey and this was great! Thankfully, it was not Thanksgiving. I rant into a few problems such as not enough bouillion so I just added a little bit of salt. I heeded some warnings about the cook time and I had a 12 pound turkey so I cooked it for 2 hours and then checked it and it was close. The last half an hour, I took off the foil and turned it down a bit. We had a slight catastrophe - our refrigerator broke and I got sidetracked moving food to another freezer. Surprisingly, an hour later - we still had a moist turkey! The recipe is foolproof - but do watch the time. My 12 pounder was done in 4 hours total and the last hour I turned it down to 300 degrees. Thanks for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I'm a little late rating but this recipe was amazing. I made this last thanks giving, it was the first time that I had made a turkey and I plan to use it every year! I read tons of reviews before making it, I wanted to make sure I picked the perfect recipe, I'm telling you, the is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartpockets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I've always added liquid to the pan when roasting a turkey along with bouillon cubes and butter. Never understood why so many professionals tell you not to add any liquid. Rated four stars because there's no mention of this: For juiciness and tenderness, I've learned to always brine that bird first. And you don't need to get all fancy with the brine recipe to get a tender and juicy result, just flip it over halfway through the brining process. To roast, thoroughly rinse the turkey inside and out; pat it dry. Stuff the turkey if desired. Place it in the pan and rub it down with olive oil. Sprinkle with your herb(s) of choice. Add water or chicken broth/stock to about 1/4", 2-3 chicken bouillon cubes, several small blobs of butter, and about 1/2 cup of chopped celery. Tent the breast and drumsticks with aluminum foil and pop it into the oven. After about 1-1/2 hours, start basting periodically; add a little water to the pan as needed. When you come down to the final 30-45 minutes, remove the tent to allow the breast and legs to brown. I'm looking (fondly) at a big ol' tom turkey in the field behind my house right now . . . LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Excellent! Made it during Thanksgiving and doing it again tonight. Awesome recipe! The turkey was very moist and full of flavour. Everyone was surprised how tasty it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Best turkey I have ever made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States