Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Best turkey I ever had but I changed a few things. For starters I brined the turkey overnight in salt, pepper, brown sugar, rosemary and thyme. I didn't used the parsley. for the butter I softened a whole stick and mixed in salt, pepper, fresh chopped garlic, dry minced onions and oregano. I rubbed it on and under the skin. Instead of the water and bouillon I used 2 cans of chicken broth and mixed in a tbls of better than bouillon turkey base. I sprinkled the seasoning salt over but found I wasn't fond of that. Next time I'll leave it out. I cooked it in an oven bag using a remote digital thermometer. When the temp reached 145 I cut open the top of the bag cooking it at 400 till it reached 180 to get it nice and brown. The turkey came out beautifly with about 5-6 cups of juices of which I only used 3 cups to make gravy and have been using the juices in other dishes such as rice, potatoes, pastas, etc. It made a fabulous gravy. I know it's not the same recipe but it came out so great I had to share what I did. I'll never make turkey any other way again except leave out the minced onion. I don't think it added anything. I'm making a 5# chicken tonight this way to see how it turns out. It's brining in the fridge right now calling out to me, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I've tried many different ways to fix turkey over the years, but found this to be the best. It's simple, quick, and comes out very moist and flavorful every time. You can't go wrong. I don't vary the recipe at all, but have left out seasoning when I didn't have it and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Delicious and moist! My husband made it for Thanksgiving and it was perfect . . . also, it was the first turkey either of us had ever made, so very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is the recipe we make every year for Thanksgiving. With a probe thermometer and this recipe, you can never go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
amazing. first attempt ever at a thanksgiving turkey...beautiful results. lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe that i have use many times. With this being a simple recipe anyone can do it PLUS you can add too it if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
First time making turkey... I slightly overcooked it, but it was still moist and the best turkey Ive had. This is a no fail recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Nothing special at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made this just last night 1/15/12 O.M.G You want to talk about good, the white meat was not dry at all and i dont eat whit meat but i did try the white to see if it was dry and not at all. This is hands down they best i have had in a looooooooong time ........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Knocked it out of the park! Thank you! The drippings were a bit salty - thus the gravy, too (and I am a salt lover). Will probably skip the seasoning salt next time, but this was the moistest, yummiest turkey I have ever tasted, let alone cooked myself. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States