Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this turkey this year for Thanksgiving and it turned out great! I put it in the roaster and cooked until the breast thermometer popped. It was so easy! This was only my second attempt at cooking a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my second year making turkey, first time using this recipe. Big hit!! The recipe IS as simple as it sounds with hardly any prep time. I had a 13lb. bird, and elevated it in the pan with a small rack. After preparing as directed (being very generous with the butter, especially near the drums), I covered the entire turkey in foil. (No tent). Basically, my turkey steam cooked. After two hours, I was pleasantly surprised to see it had turned a beautiful golden brown. I only took the foil off the last half hour of cooking, for browning and only basted once the foil was off. I was going to use the drippings to make a sauce or gravy, but I didn't need to. Needless to say, this was the juiciest, most flavorful turkey I have ever eaten in my life. Sp simple, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADENIKITA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Best and juiciest turkey I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have made plenty of turkeys in my day, usually brining. I thought I would try something with a bit more seasoning and with the rave reviews this one gets, thought I would try it. It was only OK - nothing near the OMG level these folks are talking about. Usually, my turkey get "oh very juicy" or "very good". Not one compliment here (nor any disses, and my family is frank). The meat was not dry, but also not as juicy as brining yields. The onion flavor distracts from turkey itself. And for those of you who love the crispy, brown skin to nibble on while carving, fughetabatit! I think for my next turkey I will combine some of the ideas here and brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
PERFECT!!!!! This was the best Turkey I've ever had! I am so impressed and so is my family. I will be using this recipe EVERY year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I am fifteen and I live in Mexico. I begged my mom this year if she would please let me fix a thanksgiving dinner. She let me, and i spent a week searching for just the right recipes. I came upon this recipe, and imediatley liked it for it's simplicity ( and it had ingredients i could actually get or find here), besides it had rave reviews. It seemed like it made the most delicious turkey on earth, and the juiciest according to the reviews. I have to say I am VERY disappointed!!!! with the actual results. I did everything, following sugestions given in the reviews, and i even brined it overnight. I was so hopeing for it to come out juicy. I basted it, and did not overcook it. When i took it out of the oven it looked soooo juicy and flavorful. And there were plenty of pan dripings. Sorry to say it waas tasteless and so dry!!!! i don't what i did wrong!!!! :'( i was/am soooooo disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used this recipe to make my first turkey, and it was very simple and delicious! I used chicken broth instead of chicken bouillon/water, but did everything else the same. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Turkey was very moist and flavorful. Rave reviews. I browned the neck etc and then simmered them in chicken broth, and used that as the majority of the stock for my gravy, adding a couple cups from the turkey as well. This was the most praise I have ever received on a turkey, I will always do it this way going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was the first turkey I've ever cooked and the recipe was incredibly simple and fool proof. I might have liked it to have a bit more flavor or seasoning and may either brine it first next year or season it a little more heavily. Everyone said it was the moistest turkey they've ever had. We couldn't even put the whole turkey on the platter prior to carving it because it was literally falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Loved it! I have been using the recipe for Rosemary Roasted Turkey for years. This year wanted to try something new. This was fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly and it made a juicey flavorful turkey. May try this with chicken as well. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States