Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Best bird i have EVER made. It was moist and tasty. Couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Butter was a little difficult to place between the turkey and the skin but it was well worth it. It's the most succulent and moist turkey that I have made in a few years. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was my first turkey ever. I smothered it with butter as others suggested and put it in a bag. I doubled it because we had a 23 pounder and while it took a lot longer to cook than expected it did turn out very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We have never made a turkey before. This one was great!! Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The butter saved my turkey! I used a roaster for the baking and that really made it cook a lot faster. 13.5 lb turkey was done done in 2.25 hours. The meat was split from the legs! Luckily all that butter kept the breast area tender. I used 4 cups chicken broth, poultry seasoning and parsley flakes. Had roaster at 350. Next time will roast at 325 as roaster instructions indicated. This is an excellent recipe and will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I followed directions carefully for Thanksgiving and when I removed the foil, the turkey fell apart. There was just this pile of turkey pieces saturated in the broth. The legs fell right off the carcass. There were no brown bits in the bottom of the pan with which to make rich, dark gravy. Fortunately, it was just for my husband and I, as I would have been ashamed to serve it to guests. The meat tasted good, however and was certainly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have made this several times and it has always turned out well. The first time I made, I use bullion cubes crushed up for lack of understanding with the ingredient and it drippings were too salty to be used for anything. But the bird was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
You just can't ignore a ratings score like that. I made my first every turkey on thanksgiving this year and used this recipe, used fresh onion instead of dried and rosemary instead of parsley. It was perfect. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chiri
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was my first time making a Turkey and it was the best I've tasted. I used a boneless w/meat turkey breast.. I brined it over night w/1c brown sugar, 1c kosher salt, 2gallon water, 1tbspn pepper and 3 table spoon of garlic.. I followed the full recipe and added italian seasoning and garlic to the bird.. EVERYONE LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiri
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe does not call for basting, but I basted the turkey every half hour for the last two hours. I also used about one and a quarter sticks of butter. The chicken boullion - I used a full box (8 packets). I added one full chopped onion in the center and crushed garlic. Make sure you put the foil over the turkey, but try not to let it touch the turkey in too many areas. I cooked the Turkey for 5 hours at 350 degrees Farenheit (180 celcius) for a 17lb turkey. Tasted moist, but I think it could have used the full amount of season salt, I just sprinkled a small amount on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States