Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I was very underwhelmed by this recipe. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is a great technique to use if you want a moist tender bird. I have used this recipe 3 years in a row and am very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easy cooking momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I had never cooked a turkey before and after looking at numerous recipies, I chose this one. I have now cooked 4 turkey dinners over the last few years using this recipe and it ALWAYS comes out perfect. My only suggestion would be if you are cooking a bigger turkey, to put a pan below to catch any overflow or maybe reduce the liquid slightly. This last Christmas, I cooked a 21 pound turkey...didn't change any of the measurements and it was still perfect.....but the drippings did overflow and cleaning the oven was a pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years now. Everyone loves it! It's very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
i've cooked a bit, but yesterday was my first turkey. thanks for your recipe, which worked great. i added about 6 cups of water, chopped celery, and more chopped onion to the pan, with the neck and heart. once turkey was done, i strained it, and added another 2/3 cups water mixed with ~4 tablespoons corn starch...heated and had a great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome recipe. My first time making the turkey and it was beautiful. Was assigned to make this recipe again. Turkey was very juicy and tender. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Such succulent turkey delicious and very moist. Family loved it. Recommend this to any 1st timers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Best. Turkey. Ever. This is what I've done the past several years: I use the brine technique described in another recipe on this site called "Perfect Turkey" then I prepare the turkey according to the Homestyle/Michigander way. I use a meat injector to get some of the water/seasoning mixture into the bird before I pour the mixture all over it. I use a roasting pan with a lid and I leave it. I do not uncover it to baste or anything until time is up. I get rave reviews every time. The remaining turkey stock makes an excellent gravy with a very easy recipe on this site called "Savory Turkey Gravy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made the way recipe suggests. Came out wonderful. I didn't even baste it very much and was really juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incredibly incompetent

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Best Thanksgiving turkey we have prepared. It was so moist. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States