Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I had over 25 family members home for an early Thanksgiving meal and the turkey was inhaled! Lol! Everyone raved about the taste and how moist and tender it was. The only change was that I added a few sprinkles of garlic powder with the other spices. Even my daughter who doesn't like turkey said it was "amazing!". Thank you for sharing the recipe. No more searching for a turkey recipe!,, oh! And my mom made gravy with some of the stock and we only added pepper. It had the perfect amount of saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise White Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xtinamarie
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This turkey is amazing! Thank you so much for the recipe!! I used this recipe to make my very FIRST turkey ever & my boyfriend was soooo happy with it (: Our 1 year old daughter even loved it!! Haha but it was easy to follow and it turned out incredibly moist & delicious! Thanks again allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy and creates the juiciest, best turkey I have ever made. Makes you look good as a cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I've usually baked my turkeys in a browning bag but this year I wanted a crisper skin so I opted for this recipe. I'm not blaming the recipe for my turkey being somewhat dry. I roasted the bird at 325 degrees, as that was the way I was taught. My cooking teacher in highschool and the directions on the bird both stated 325, so that's what I went with. I was having a bit of trouble getting it done and I think I left it in too long. Another mistake I made was using heavy duty foil. The directions on the turkey tag said to use light foil. It was still pretty juicy but not quite as juicy as I wanted so there's room for tweaking next time. I really liked the butter under the skin and using the chicken broth in the pan. My only complaint is that it was waay too salty for my taste with the seasoned salt and next time I'll season it differently. The skin is so salty it's inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Sheumaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Energy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have used this recipe for our Thanksgiving Turkey for over 20yrs. It is always perfect- Breast meat is so juicy and tender with a great flavor. This is the recipe to impress your friends and family- And so very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollylee69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe for a beginner! Easy to follow and very low maintenance. Just be mindful of your turkeys weight and follow the instructions on the packaging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMessyChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Best Turkey recipe ever! This year will be my third time using this recipe to make my Turkey. It always comes out tasty and really juicy. I have gotten a lot of compliments from family members. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Hands down the best turkey I have made. Or, should I say the only turkey I will make. Being first generation Chinese-American, Thanksgiving was never a thing for us, much less learning how to make a Turkey. My mom made a turkey eon ago; we were stuck with dry turkey meat for weeks. It wasn't until a couple of years ago I attempt to make a turkey myself. Thanks to this recipe, a new Thanksgiving tradition is born. This turkey is so juicy and delicious, just like how real turkey should taste. I can't believe we have missed out on turkey all these years. We have to increase the size of our turkey every year just so that we would have enough leftovers. Our family from oversea insisted they would never liked turkey was immediately converted once they tasted it, commenting how they never had a turkey this moist. I pretty much stay true to the recipe, except tying the bird down so that it would cook more evenly and putting extra foil on the legs (a trick from food network). I also baste the turkey here and there during baking when I remember to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosebud92107
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I've tried several turkey recipes and this is one of those recipes. This is really good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud92107

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was easy and produced a perfect turkey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States