Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My turkey was only 10lbs so I adjusted the recipe. Only cooked 2 hrs covered and then 30mins uncovered. I've always cooked my turkeys foiled but wanted to try this one with the different seasonings. Very nice. The only reason I gave it a 4 was that I believe the recipe calls for the turkey to be uncovered to long. I was wondering why so many were talking about basting now I know. I would cook longer covered and then just uncover just long enough to brown, no basting required. Having to keep opening the oven door lets too much hot air out. Oh, I also sliced up an onion, put half on the bottom(turkey on top) and the other half inside the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I am not much of a cook I ruin everything, but I have made this turkey 3 times and it is the best. My kids told me to give the recipe to my mom for her Thanksgiving turkey. I didn't change anything made exactly as it says and it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is the only way I do turkeys now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
We used lots of butter under the skin. The turkey was fantastically moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
So quick and easy to make! Resulted in a juicy, tasty Easter Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fader Family
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My first time cooking turkey! I should have basted it more, but my husband loved it! I pulled it off quite well! I also used 4 bouillon cubes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I was nervous about roasting a turkey for the first time, and chose this recipe because it seemed relatively easy. It turned out great! The meat came out nice and juicy, even the parts that normally get dry. Next time I might look up some ways to add a little more flavor, but I'll definitely use this base recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Only way to make a turkey! So flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ramey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Did not cover with foil, instead just used lid of my roaster pan. Was delicious. Next time I need to check it at the minimum time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Followed this recipe and my first ever Thanksgiving turkey turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States