Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I've made turkey this way for years (thanks to Allrecipies! =) ) I've had all kinds of compliments, so I will continue to use this recipe.-Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was fantastic! My turkey was so tender it fell off the bone, moist and delish. I will be using this recipe again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I use this recipe every time I make turkey, it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Simple and delicious. The butter made the breast meat very tender. The gravy I made from the pan drippings was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
It worked! I now can say I successfully cooked a bird. Everyone loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna Blaskievich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was the 2nd turkey I have ever made for Thanksgiving. It was the most suculent amazing turkey I have ever made or tasted in my life. The left overs were amazing (and I hate left over turkey). It was so juicy that after heating it back up in the microwave ALL you had to do was barely touch the meat and the juice flowed out of it. Needless to say my family was very very VERY PLEASED. WILL BE MY GO TO RECIPE EVERY YEAR. THANK YOU. I will add that I seasoned my butter with herbs before rubbing all over in and out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My turkey was only 10lbs so I adjusted the recipe. Only cooked 2 hrs covered and then 30mins uncovered. I've always cooked my turkeys foiled but wanted to try this one with the different seasonings. Very nice. The only reason I gave it a 4 was that I believe the recipe calls for the turkey to be uncovered to long. I was wondering why so many were talking about basting now I know. I would cook longer covered and then just uncover just long enough to brown, no basting required. Having to keep opening the oven door lets too much hot air out. Oh, I also sliced up an onion, put half on the bottom(turkey on top) and the other half inside the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I am not much of a cook I ruin everything, but I have made this turkey 3 times and it is the best. My kids told me to give the recipe to my mom for her Thanksgiving turkey. I didn't change anything made exactly as it says and it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is the only way I do turkeys now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
We used lots of butter under the skin. The turkey was fantastically moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States