Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I will never make turkey any other way again. This is the best by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I use recipe's as a guideline. I had a 22# gobbler. I used a cooking bag and took other ppl's suggestions. I prepped the turkey and then "stuffed" it with 2mid sized onions, an apple and some celery. I put my own seasoned butter under the skin/and some in the cavity as best I could then put some cut up celery and carrots in the bottom of a cooking bag. (I also sprayed a little cooking spray in the bag and put about 2tblspns flour in the bag and coated it as best I could. Then I put the turkey in and added about 1/2 carton of chicken stock. Cooked it for about 4ish hours and viola awesome turkey!!! Seriously I had about at least 6cups of gravy and the turkey was amazeballs. It literally fell off the bone. It was so moist and delicious. I could not give this "guideline" a higher recommendation. Thanks for taking the time to read my take on this recipe and please be kind to one another. Have a great day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is the one! Tender, juicy and delicious. Thank you Robin C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Good taste. Also makes a good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Easy, nothing special. Too buttery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Cooked turkey for the first time and it was the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjpomeroy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is by far my favorite turkey recipe! It was my first time making one all by myself and it couldn't have been easier. The only changes I made were I combined all the spices together and added 1 1/2 Tbsp of garlic & herb seasoning. I also cooked it for 3 hrs and 15 minutes covered, then removed foil for an additional 10 minutes. It was juicy and had robust flavor in every bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
It is great ! It is my first time and they loved it .. They were shocked that i could make such a tasty juicy Turkey .. I added rosemary to the butter i put under the skin i added 1 tbsp garlic powder to the mix .. I added 1/2 tbsp fresh ginger to the mixture ..put some carrots and celery and one onion inside the turkey .. Yumyummm.. I made a great sauce from it by adding 4 tbsp flour to 1 tbsp butter after turning light brown added the turkey broth and mixed wile cooking i added a dash of cinnamon and a dash of black pepper to it .. It became out of this world ;))) enjoyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maguiypablo
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe! This was the first turkey I baked and I was concerned how everything was going to turn out, but the turkey came out perfect. The turkey was not dry at all and it had a very good taste. This recipe is easy to do and it comes out just the way you want it. My family loved the turkey. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Got great reviews, it smelled heavenly while roasting and cut up beautifully. I basted 3-4 times with the liquid/butter - I didn't have ACTUAL butter so used the margarine/spread substitute which I'm sure wasn't as tasty. Overall a great recipe, I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States